BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticles
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationTechnical ReportsMiscellaneous
This is the "Books" page of the "Citation Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Citation Style Guides  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/citation Print Guide RSS Updates

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Form

Bibliography:

Author last name, first. Title. City of Publication:

     Publisher, year of publication.

 

Footnote/ endnote:

     Author first name, last, Title (City of Publication:

Publisher, year of publication), page number.

 

Note: Chicago Style allows for abbreviations more readily in footnotes/ endnotes than in the Bibliographies.

 

Examples

Book - One author Sec. 17.1.1:

Bibliography:

Girard, Philippe R. Paradise Lost: Haiti's Tumultuous

     Journey from Pearl of the Caribbean to Third

     World Hot Spot. New York: Palgrave Macmillan,

     2005.

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Girard, Philippe R., Paradise Lost: Haiti's Tumultuous

Journey from Pearl of the Caribbean to Third World Hot

Spot (New York: Palgrave Macmillan,

2005), 14.

 


Book - Multiple Authors Sec. 17.1.1:

For 2-3 authors, you will write out their names.  For 3+ authors, you will list only the first author followed by "et. al."

Bibliography:

Appleby, Joyce, Lynne Hunt, and Margaret Jacob. Telling

     theTruth about History. New York: W.W. Norton &

     Company, 1994.

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Joyce Appleby, Lynne Hunt, and Margaret Jacob, Telling

the Truth about History (New York: W.W. Norton & Company,

1994), 135-136.


Book - with Editors Sec. 17.1.1:

Bibliography:

Silverstein, Theodore, trans. Sir Gawain and the Green

     Knight. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974.

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Theodore Silverstein, trans., Sir Gawain and the Green

Knight (Chicago, University of Chicago Press, 1974), 34.

 


Book - with Authors and Editors and Translators Sec. 17.1.1:

Bibliography:

Adorno, Theodor W. and Walter Benjamin, The Complete

     Correspondance, 1928-1940. Edited by Henri Lonitz,

     Translated by Nicholas Walker. Cambridge, MA: Harvard

     University Press, 1999.

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Theodor W. Adorno and Walter Benjamin, ed. Henry

Lonitz, trans. Nicholas Walker (Cambridge, MA: Harvard

University Press, 1999), 125.


Books - Revised editions Sec 17.1.3:

Bibliography:

Babb, Florence. Between Cooking and the Pot: The Political

     Economy of Marketwomen in Peru. Rev. ed. Austin:

     University of Texas Press, 1989. 

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Florence Babb, Between Cooking and the Pot: The

Political Economy of Marketwomen in Peru. Rev. ed. (Austin:

University of Texas Press, 1989), 120.

 


Book - Chapter/ Entry Sec. 17.1.8:

Bibliography:

Chasteen, John Charles. "Neocolonialism." In Born in Blood

     and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America, 179-206.

     New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2001.

 

Endnote/ Footnote:

     John Charles Chasteen, "Neocolonialism," in Born in

Blood: A Concise History of Latin America (New York:

W.W. Norton & Company, 2001), 190-191.

 


Books - Multivolume Works Sec. 17.1.4:

These are cited based on whether each volume has a specific title.

Bibliography (2 examples):

Pelikan, Jaroslav. Christian Doctrine and Modern Culture (since 1700).

     Vol. 5 of The Christian Tradition: A History of the Development of

     Doctrine. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989.

 

Byrne, Muriel St. Clare, ed. The Lisle Letters. Vol. 4. Chicago:

     University of Chicago Press, 1981.

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Jaroslav Pelikan, Christian Doctrine and Modern Culture (since 1700).

Vol. 5 of The Christian Tradition: A History of the Development of Doctrine

(Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989), 16.

 

     Muriel St. Clare Byrne, ed. The Lisle Letters (Chicago: University of

Chicago Press, 1981), 4:243.

 


Book - Reference Book Sec. 19.5.3:

For well-known sources, such as the Encyclopedia Britannica, you only need to reference in endnotes/ footnotes.  These references can also be condensed.  Less well-known reference works require expanded citations.

Bibliography:

The Times Guide to English Style and Usage. 1999. Rev. ed. London:

     Times Books.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     The Times Guide to English Style and Usage, rev. ed. (London:

Times Books, 1999), s.vv. "police ranks," "postal addresses."

 

Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. "Salvation."

 


E-Book Sec. 17.1.10:

Bibliography:

Brasseau, Carl. Acadian to Cajun: Transformation of a People,

     1803-1977. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1992.

     www.Netlibrary.com (accessed June 25, 2008).

 

Samora, Julian, and Patricia Vandel Simon. A History of the

     Mexican-American People. Rev. ed. East Lancing, MI:

     Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University,

     2000.  http://www.jsri.msu.edu/museum/pubs/MexAmHist/

     chapter14.html#six (accessed December 18, 2005).

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Carl Brasseau, Acadian to Cajun: Transformation of a

People, 1803-1877 (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi,

1992). www.Netlibrary.com (accessed June 25, 2008).

 

     Julian Samora and Patricia Vandel Simon. A History of

the Mexican-American People. Rev. ed. (East Lancing, MI:

Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University,

2000), under "Civil War in Mexico,"  http://www.jsri.msu.edu/

museum/pubs/MexAmHist/chapter14.html#six (accessed

December 18, 2005).

Citation Services


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip