Skip to Main Content

Women's Studies: Find Articles

Find Articles

Need a quick search? Check out Google Scholar.

Google Scholar is a basic, easy-to-use search engine you can use to find scholarly sources. There are some full-text materials available, but sometimes you'll need to check our library for full access to sources you find. Remember: you should never have to pay for an article! If we don't have what you need, you can order the item from Inter-Library Loan.

Can't find what you're looking for? Click here to get an inter-library loan.

General Open-Access Resources

BASE
The Bielefeld Academic Search Engine is a powerful index of over 300 million documents, approximately 60% of which have free, full-text access.
CORE
Like BASE, CORE is a large search engine of open access materials, but it also provides access to raw datasets for analysis.
DOAJ
The Directory of Open Access Journals is an extensive index of open-access journals that serves as a searchable database for articles.

GRAFT
An extension of JURN, the global repository access full-text search engine is a simple tool for finding articles, either as full-text or citations.
Internet Archive Scholar
A new service from the Internet Archive, the IAS is searchable index of preserved public web content, digitized print materials from paper and microform collections, and general materials from archive.org collections.
JURN
JURN is a search engine for open-access content that works like a simplified yet more sophisticated version of Google Scholar.

Click here to search the world's libraries with WorldCat.

Suggested Databases

Digital Archives and Collections

Open-Access Journals

Analize: Journal of Gender and Feminist Studies
This journal is edited by the Romanian Society for Feminist Analysis AnA and emphasizes conversations among Eastern and Non-Eastern feminist researchers.
Aspasia: The International Yearbook of Central, Eastern, and Southeastern European Women's and Gender History
Aspasia is an international, peer-reviewed journal of European women's and gender history that is particularly interested in moving past traditional Western European perspectives.
Atlantis: Critical Studies in Gender, Culture & Social Justice​​​​​
Atlantis is a journal that covers a wide variety of issues within Women's and Gender Studies as well as issues within the field itself.
Catalyst: Feminism, Theory, Technoscience
Catalyst is a peer-reviewed journal that that specializes in the field of feminist science and technology studies (STS) and covers topics from public health and disability studies to digital media studies and sci-art.
Feminist Philosophy Quarterly
This is an open-access journal that covers all areas of feminist philosophical practice in the belief that the study of philosophy can contribute to positive social change.
Feminists@Law: An Open Access Journal of Feminist Legal Scholarship
This is an open-access journal concerned with feminist analyses of all areas of law and justice with an emphasis on postcolonial, transnational, and poststructuralist thought.
Feral Feminisms
Feral Feminisms is an independent journal that publishes peer-reviewed academic essays as well as creative works in various media forms. This journal is unique in that it provides a space for students, scholars, artists, and activists to exist in conversation with one another.
Gender Forum: An Internet Journal for Gender Studies
This is another open-access journal that emphasizes an interdiscplinary approach to gender issues. Generally focusing on literary and cultural topics, Gender Forum also looks at topics in politics, science, law, and religion.
InterAlia: A Journal of Queer Studies
InterAlia is an international peer-reviewed journal that specializes in transnational and transcultural approaches to queer theory.
Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific
This is an international peer-reviewed journal that looks at issues of gender and sexuality within the contemporary, globalized contexts of Asia and the Pacific.
Journal of Feminist Scholarship
The Journal of Feminist Scholarship is most concerned with the state of feminist scholarship itself and explores the ways in which feminist perspectives can be most fully implemented across the disciplines.
Journal of International Women's Studies
The Journal of International Women's Studies is both international and interdisciplinary and seeks to close the gap between theory and praxis.
Journal of Positive Sexuality
Published by The Center for Positive Sexuality, this journal covers topics in sexuality (pleasure, ethics, technology, etc.) as well as the state of sexuality research and best practices for conducting research in the field.
LGBTQ Policy Journal
Published by the Harvard Kennedy School, this non-partisan journal explores the public policy initiatives connected to LGBTQ experience.
LIES: A Journal of Materialist Feminism
LIES is a radical, leftist journal of queer thought that interrogates the white supremacy and transphobia common in more moderate feminist circles.
Masculinities and Social Change
MCS is an international, bilingual (English and Spanish) journal that approaches issues of masculinity through an interdisciplinary lens that encompasses social science and humanities research.
Medieval Feminist Forum
MFF is a peer-reviewed journal that promotes interdisciplinary scholarship in the field of medieval gender and sexuality. Besides welcoming theoretical approaches grounded in queer theory, disability studies, ecocriticism, critical race theory, and the like, studies are welcome to investigate medieval literature, history, religion, art, and architecture.
Open Gender Journal
OGJ is an international, bilingual (English and German) journal that publishes work in intersectional gender studies with an emphasis in critical theory.
Peitho: Journal of the Coalition of Feminist Scholars in the History of Rhetoric & Composition
Peitho specializes in the intersections of rhetoric, classical to contemporary, and gender. Discussions in theory and history happen alongside conversations on best practices in feminist pedagogy. 
Queer Cats
Housed in the UCLA LGBTQ Studies Program, Queer Cats is an interdisciplinary journal that covers topics running the gamut from the fine arts, history, religious studies, sociology, political science, and more.
Redescriptions
Redescriptions focuses on rhetorical moves within political theory, conceptual history, feminist thought, and highlights political agency within these fields.
S&F Online
S&F Online, a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online-only journal of feminist theories and women’s movements, provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women’s most innovative programming.
Women & Performance: A Journal of Feminist Theory
Women & Performance: a journal of feminist theory publishes scholarly essays from interdisciplinary feminist perspectives.
Writing from Below
Writing from Below is an online, open-access, peer-reviewed gender, sexuality and diversity studies journal.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 |

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St., Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 800-622-3352
EOE/AA/ADA | A member of the University of Louisiana System | Web Disclaimer | Policy Statements | University Status & Emergency Preparedness