History: Find Articles

• McNeese University Archives 
  A wealth of information, including oral histories about the Lake Charles area,  correspondence, newspaper articles, the Southwest Louisiana Legislative Delegation Collection,  the Veterans History Project with videotaped and audiotaped interviews, a new online bibliography on Jean Lafitte, and other online bibliographies including one on Hurricane Audrey.  Ask the staff in the Archives Department on the 1st floor of the Library to help you access these materials.
• Bayou State Periodical Index  
  This database indexes articles related to Louisiana History. It does not provide full-text articles. The database indexes both popular and scholarly periodicals. Users may search by title; but there is not an option to limit searches by peer-review/ scholarly articles.
• Biographical Directory of the United States Congress: 1774-Present 
  Very useful because it can be searched by name, year, congress, or state---one can search by Louisiana and get a historical list of all of Louisiana's members of Congress, or search by 1994 and get a list of all members of Congress in that year. It has biographical information, bibliographies and links to research collections.  This website is provided by the Library of Congress.
• Louisiana Digital Library 
  Online photographs, documents, maps, and oral histories in collections on the Antebellum Period, the Louisiana Purchase, and many other topics.

Video tutorial for searching databases

• Academic Search Complete  
  Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.

• Bayou State Periodical Index  
  This database indexes articles related to Louisiana History. It does not provide full-text articles. The database indexes both popular and scholarly periodicals. Users may search by title; but there is not an option to limit searches by peer-review/ scholarly articles.

• Biography Resource Center  
  This resource provides full-text articles from many reference books available through Gale Publishing. These are not peer-reviewed/ scholarly entries. However, they are generally considered to be authoritative and well-written, and documented.

• Digital Dissertations and Theses  
  This databases indexes and offers previews to PhD dissertations and Master's theses, especially for topics in the social sciences and nursing and health care fields. The previews generally include a table of contents. All documents should be peer-reviewed/ scholarly; but access is available through ILL or direct purchase.

• Humanities International Complete  
  This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, fiction, literature, philosophy, poetry, and more. Emphasis is on 20th Century Humanities. Users cannot limit searches by full-text articles. Users may limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.

• JSTOR  
  This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, performing Arts, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.

• LexisNexis Academic  
  This database provides articles from many major newspapers, magazines, and legal resources. Coverage varies to include business, current events, politics, social issues, and more. Most documents are available in full-text. Most documents are not peer-reviewed/ scholarly.

• McNeese University Archives 
  A wealth of information, including oral histories about the Lake Charles area,  correspondence, newspaper articles, the Southwest Louisiana Legislative Delegation Collection,  the Veterans History Project with videotaped and audiotaped interviews, a new online bibliography on Jean Lafitte, and other online bibliographies including one on Hurricane Audrey.  Ask the staff in the Archives Department on the 1st floor of the Library to help you access these materials.

• Newspaper Source  
  This database provides access to articles from major national and international newspapers. It also includes some transcripts from major television and radio broadcasts. The articles are not scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users may limit searches to full-text articles.

• Pop Culture Universe  
  This database provides articles on topics related to popular culture in United States History. Browsing is best done by decade and selecting a theme from the menu on the left side of the screen. Topics include, biography, cinema, news, sports, trends, and more. Articles are full-text; but not scholarly/ peer-reviewed.

• Primary Search  
  This database provides access to articles on many topics. The database is designed for school children with the core of the database being Funk and Wganall's Encyclopedia for Kids. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.

• Project Gutenberg    
  This database provides access to ebooks that are free from copyright. Included are most of the classics as well as some major historical documents. Emphasis is on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. All content is available in full-text.

• Project Muse  
  This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.

• World History Link  
  This database provides access to articles on topics related to Diplomacy, Foreign Affairs, History, Politics, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.

Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.