awd
Internet Resources
- American Memory
Primary sources on American history and culture---from the Library of Congress.
- American Presidency Project
This website from the University of California, Santa Barbara has all of the Inaugural Addresses and State of the Union Addresses, as well as Public Papers of the Presidents and FDR's Fireside Chats. The text of the presidential candidates' debates from 1976-2004 and the Kennedy-Nixon debates of 1960 can be found here.
- American Women's History: A Research Guide
This website, covering many topics and time periods in American history, has primary as well as secondary sources in women's history.
- Avalon Project at Yale: Documents inLaw, History, and Diplomacy
Text of historical documents worldwide from pre-18th century to the present.
- Confederate States of America
Links to sites with primary documents. Topics include causes of the Civil War, African-American fighting for the CSA, and descriptions of the Civil War state by state. Everything is presented with a Southern point of view.
- Documenting the American South
A collection of primary source texts on the South from colonial times to the early twentieth century---from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links to sites with primary documents. A few of the documents are before 1066.
- European Views of the Americas 1493-1750
Text of historical documents worldwide from pre-18th century to the present. This is a bibliographic database with little, if any, full-text accessibility. Documents are from foreign sources and frequently written in different languages. Topics include native americans, natural disasters, slavery, and more.
- Famous Trials
This interesting site from a law professor at the University of Missouri - Kansas City has excerpts and sometimes complete trial records of famous trials including Galileo in 1633, Susan B. Anthony in 1873, the Scopes "Monkey" Trial in 1925, the My Lai Court Martial in 1970, and many other trials.
- France in America/ La France en America
This is a bilingual digital library from the rare book, map and manuscript collections of the Library of Congress and the Bibliotheque nationale de France exploring the history of the French presence in North America from the 16th-19th centuries.
- Historical Census Browser
U.S. Census information from 1790-1960.
- McNeese Government Documents Department
The Government Documents Department in the McNeese Library has primary sources in American history, including the workings of the Congress and President. Ask the Government Documents staff in the Government Documents Department on the 4th floor of the Library to help you locate primary sources.
- Making of America
University of Michigan's digital library of primary sources in American history covering social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction.
- Making of America
Cornell University's digital library of primary sources in American history covering social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction.
-
National Archives - Civil War and Reconstruction
A small collection of primary source documents pertaining to this era.
- National Security Archive
Declassified documents, obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, on U.S. foreign policy.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Excellent source for worldwide historical maps.
- Rosa Parks Collection Collection
The documents of Rosa Parks from the Library of Congress.