Our Project ScholarThe Five MeetingsCivil War Websites
This is the "Civil War Websites" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

History  

Last Updated: Sep 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/guide_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Civil War Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Web Links

American Memory.  This database of Civil War photographs comes from the extensive collections of the Library of Congress.

Center for Civil War Photography. This organization offers many unique digital Civil War images.

Civil War Regiments.  This site includes regiment Histories, organized by state, and compiled by the Library of Congress.

Civil War Trust.  This is an organization dedicated to preserving Civil War sites. 

Gilder-Lehrman Institute.  This non-profit organization is celebrating the 150th Anniversary of the war with podcasts and essays.  The homepage has a videocast with Edward Ayers, national scholar organizing the Let's Talk About It: Making Sense of the Civil War series.

Hidden Patterns of the Civil War.  This unique website is designed to analyze a variety of factors and resources such as maps, letters, speeches, etc. to determine hidden patterns such as the frequency of "states' rights" vs. "slavery" in legislative debates.

Library of Congress Civil War Maps.  Offers an extensive map collection related to the Civil War.

Louisiana Civil War Maps.  This interactive website identifies Louisiana battles and offers links to each battle.  Notably absent is Nibblet's Bluff in Southwestern Louisiana, the only Confederate victory in the state.

Louisiana in the Civil War.  This website is a blog with many links on this topic.

Louisiana Ordinance of Secession.  This primary document is archived by the Wisconsin Historical Society.

Louisiana Confederate Pensions.  The Louisiana Secretary of State maintains this archive of confederate soldiers serving in Louisiana units, and their widows.

National Parks.  This website by the National Parks Service includes a wide variety of documents and images celebrating the 150th Anniversary of the war.

Nettleton Civil War Letters.  This is a collection of letters between a Union soldier and a lady friend back home in Ohio.

New York Times.  The famed newspaper has a running series entitled "Disunion" that discussions many of the same issues facing 19th Century America and 21st Century America. 

Smithsonian Institute.  The Smithsonian's collections of digital images.

Underground Railroad Workshop.  The purpose of this website is to participate in a workshop; but the site includes a lot of material and external links on the topic.

U.S. Army Civil War Commemoration.  The U.S. Army has digital collections commemorating the Civil War.

Valley of the Shadow. This website, put together by series scholar, Edward Ayers, chronicles two communities - one North, and one South - through letters, newspapers, photographs, and other records before, during, and after the Civil War.

Visualizing Emancipation.  This website links to thousands of documents relating to emancipation events.  The key idea behind the database is to point out that emancipation id d not happen over night with the Emancipation Proclamation; but rather was a gradual process before and after the main event.

 

John McNeese, Civil War Soldier

John McNeese

At age 18, John McNeese joined the Union Army in 1861.  He later became an advocate for education in Southwest Louisiana.  McNeese State University is named in his honor.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip