Our Project ScholarThe Five MeetingsCivil War Websites
This is the "Internet Resources" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

History  

Last Updated: Sep 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/guide_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Internet Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Request a Book

Can't find a book or article?

Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.

 

Internet Resources

    • American Memory  Rating
      Primary sources on American history and culture---from the Library of Congress.
    • American Presidency Project Rating
      This website from the University of California, Santa Barbara has all of the Inaugural Addresses and State of the Union Addresses, as well as Public Papers of the Presidents and FDR's Fireside Chats.  The text of the presidential candidates' debates from 1976-2004 and the Kennedy-Nixon debates of 1960 can be found here.
    • Confederate States of America  Rating
      Links to sites with primary documents.  Topics include causes of the Civil War, African-American fighting for the CSA, and descriptions of the Civil War state by state.  Everything is presented with a Southern point of view.
      • Documenting the American South  Rating
        A collection of primary source texts on the South from colonial times to the early twentieth century---from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
      • European Views of the Americas 1493-1750 Rating
        Text of historical documents worldwide from pre-18th century to the present.  This is a bibliographic database with little, if any, full-text accessibility.  Documents are from foreign sources and frequently written in different languages.  Topics include native americans, natural disasters, slavery, and more. 
      • Famous Trials  Rating
        This interesting site from a law professor at the University of Missouri - Kansas City has excerpts and sometimes complete trial records of famous trials including Galileo in 1633, Susan B. Anthony in 1873, the Scopes "Monkey" Trial in 1925, the My Lai Court Martial in 1970, and many other trials.
      • France in America/ La France en America  Rating
        This is a bilingual digital library from the rare book, map and manuscript collections of the Library of Congress and the Bibliotheque nationale de France exploring the history of the French presence in North America from the 16th-19th centuries.
      • McNeese Government Documents Department  Rating
        The Government Documents Department in the McNeese Library has primary sources in American history, including the workings of the Congress and President.   Ask the Government Documents staff in the Government Documents Department on the 4th floor of the Library to help you locate primary sources.
      • Making of America  Rating
        University of Michigan's digital library of primary sources in American history covering social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction.
      • Making of America  Rating
        Cornell University's digital library of primary sources in American history covering social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction.
      • National Archives - Civil War and Reconstruction  Rating                                                                                                                                                                      A small collection of primary source documents pertaining to this era.

      • National Security Archive  Rating
        Declassified documents, obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, on U.S. foreign policy.

          Evaluating Web Sites

          Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals: What’s the Difference?

          Some assignments require you to use only scholarly journals, not popular magazines. There is no foolproof way to tell the difference. However, there are some features you can look for to help you decide if a periodical is scholarly. (Read more...)


          McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

          McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


          McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
          Copyright © McNeese State University

          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip