Drug Databases
DailyMed is a website maintained by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that offers access to up-to-date information about prescription and over-the-counter drugs, including their labels, dosage, and safety information, for healthcare providers and the general public.
Drugs.com is an online pharmaceutical and healthcare resource that provides comprehensive information about medications, drug interactions, and healthcare-related topics for consumers and healthcare professionals. It also includes a pill identifier.
DrugBank is a database containing extensive information about drugs and their properties, serving as a valuable resource for researchers and healthcare professionals.
Erowid: Documenting the Complex Relationship between Humans & Psychoactives
Erowid is an online platform that provides information about psychoactive substances, including their effects, risks, and experiences, with the aim of promoting harm reduction, education, and responsible use.
The Merck Manual, also known as the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, is a widely respected medical reference book and online resource that offers comprehensive information on various medical conditions, diseases, and their diagnosis and treatment options, primarily aimed at healthcare professionals but also accessible to the general public.
Prescriber's Digital Reference
The Prescriber's Digital Reference (PDR) is an electronic database and reference tool that provides healthcare professionals with information about prescription drugs, including their uses, dosages, side effects, and interactions, facilitating informed prescribing decisions.
RxList, owned by WebMD, is an online pharmaceutical resource that provides comprehensive information about prescription and over-the-counter medications, including drug descriptions, interactions, side effects, and dosages, to assist healthcare professionals and consumers in making informed decisions about medication use.
US FDA Drug Approvals and Databases
The US FDA Drug Approvals Databases are a collection of resources offered by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, providing information on the approval status and details of drugs and biologics, including the Orange Book for generic drugs and the CDER database for approved medications.
Texts
Evidence-Based Practice in Action
One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of the latest Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Evidence-Based Practice in Action: Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips from the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics awarded second place in the 2018 AJN Book of the year award in the Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development.
ISBN: 1940446937Publication Date: 2023
Evidence-Based Physical Examination Handbook
Provides succinct evidence-based guidance on the assessment of patients across the life span and development of sound clinical reasoning.A companion to the groundbreaking Evidence-Based Physical Examination: Best Practices for Health and Well-Being, this portable, full-color, richly illustrated handbook prepares you for practice in any clinical setting. A high-yield guide with only the most essential information for assessment of patients across the life span, it includes key questions and considerations for the patient history, a step-by-step guide to physical examination, tips for interpreting assessment findings, differential diagnoses, and coverage of special populations. Other useful features include Red Flag and Evidence-Based Considerations boxes, quick-reference tables, and sample documentation. The Evidence-Based Physical Examination set of products provide all of the information you need to develop sound clinical judgement-access the handbook on the go or at point of care and refer to the comprehensive textbook for in-depth review. Key Features: Provides succinct, evidence-based guidance on the history-taking and physical examination of patients across the life span Strengthens advanced assessment and clinical-reasoning skills in preparation for clinical rotations and practice Includes tips for interpreting assessment findings, Red Flag and Evidence-Based Considerations boxes, and sample documentation Highlights essential information with quick-reference tables Features abundant illustrations and images Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
ISBN: 9780826164650Publication Date: 2022
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition
Awarded third place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Development! The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes. The 2021 revised JHEBP Model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.We revised the flow of the book chapters across the sections to reflect the progression of steps in the EBP process.We included a new introduction for the evidence section that includes background on the use of evidence hierarchies, tips for differentiating research from quality improvement, and further explanation of the summary and synthesis steps in the evidence process.We provided real-world examples for how to complete all tools using feedback from our global users as well as tried and tested helpful hints.We added a new chapter to expand and amplify strategies for dissemination that includes how to create a dissemination plan, audience-specific recommendations for internal and external dissemination venues, details of the pros and cons of different types of dissemination, guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication, and an overview of the journal review process.Chapter-specific enhancements: Chapter 3: Defines critical thinking and clinical reasoning and differentiates their use in the PET process.Chapter 4: Outlines stakeholder selection criteria and an algorithm to determine the need for an EBP project.Chapter 5: Includes new information on the literature screening process to navigate a large number of results Chapter 6: Provides useful clarifications of research approaches, designs, and methods with a focus on frontline staff as the target audienceChapter 8: Includes revised synthesis and translation steps; assesses risk prior to translation; prioritizes translation models accessible to frontline staff with a focus on the QI methodology and PDSA; and describes an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EPB project.
ISBN: 9781948057875Publication Date: 2021
Clinical Guidelines
Neonatal Care: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
Neonatal Care: A Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies, 2nd Edition, provides the most recent and trustworthy recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Fetus and Newborn as well as other relevant committees, sections, and councils. This compendium contains all of the collected AAP clinical practice guidelines, policy statements, and clinical and technical reports related to the quality care of newborns and infants. Find more than 50 different topics organized into 9 sections for easy reference, including the highly anticipated "Clinical Practice Guideline Revision: Diagnosis and Management of Hyperbilirubinemia in the Newborn Infant 35 or More Weeks of Gestation." Each statement or report contains an abstract overview, a concise presentation and critique of the available data, and a summary of the findings and/or recommendations, along with a current and comprehensive bibliography. TOPICS INCLUDE Delivery and discharge Newborn screening High-risk infants and preterm birth Respiratory support Infections and vaccinations Complications and issues Safe sleep SIDS and infant death And more!
ISBN: 9781610024150Publication Date: 2023
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
Keep current with the latest clinical practice guidelines and policies from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), covering 36 conditions plus every AAP policy statement, clinical report, and technical report though December 2023. KEY FEATURES New: "Clinical Practice Guideline for the Evaluation and Treatment of Children and Adolescents with Obesity" Printed text and eBook access, including full text of the new AAP clinical practice guideline and 2023 AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Key Action Statements for all AAP clinical practice guidelines More than 600 policy statements, clinical reports, technical reports, and AAP endorsed policies Five-section organization for ease of use
ISBN: 9781610027328Publication Date: 2024
Medications in Pediatrics: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies
This new compendium contains AAP clinical practice guidelines, policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports related to the use of medications in the pediatric population. It is designed to be a handy reference to AAP policies and recommended best practices. Sections include Pediatric Drug Principles Allergy/Asthma Management Contraception Emergency Care Infections Mental Health Management Substance Use Issues Neonatal Care Pain Management Plus much more
ISBN: 9781610024341Publication Date: 2020
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery and Women's Health
Now in its 20th year, the Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery & Women's Health, Sixth Edition remains an accessible and easy-to-use quick reference guide for midwives and women's healthcare providers. Thoroughly updated and revised to reflect the changing clinical environment, it offers current evidence-based recommendations, updated approaches, and opportunities for midwifery leadership in every practice setting.The Sixth Edition features new information on diversity and inclusion, sexual health, opioid disorder and substance-exposed newborns, care for the individual who is transitioning and after transition, and more timely and relevant topics. Clinical Practice Guidelines for Midwifery & Women's Health, Sixth Edition is the perfect addition to the library of every student, practicing midwife, and women's healthcare provider.
ISBN: 9781284194036Publication Date: 2021.jpg)
Standards for Professional Nursing Practice in the Care of Women and Newborns, 8th Edition
Adopted by nurses and healthcare organizations worldwide these expert developed and reviewed benchmarks are the standards for nursing care of women and newborns. The AWHONN Standards summarize the specialty's core principles of nursing practice. This new edition reflects AWHONN's commitment to promote the health of women and newborns by describing women's health, obstetric and neonatal nursing practice and nurses'roles and responsibilities to their patients. This edition emphasizes the nursing profession's important role in providing evidence-based care that is developmentally and culturally appropriate. Featured in the eighth edition are the enduring Standards of Practice and Standards of Professional Performance that are based on and adapted from the current American Nurses Association (ANA) Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice that reflect key elements of obstetric, women's health and newborn nursing. Also included is a customizable 8th Edition Clinical Ladder for you to use in your hospital setting
ISBN: 9780015607548Publication Date: 2019
The Family Nurse Practitioner: Clinical Case Studies
The Family Nurse Practitioner provides essential guidance and information for understanding how to diagnose and manage typical (and some atypical) patient cases. With contributions from noted experts on the topic, this new edition contains updated cases to reflect today's patient-centered approach, and includes the most recent advances in patient care. From neonatal to geriatric, all the cases demonstrate real-life scenarios and present appropriate solutions on a case-by-case basis to reflect the nuance required in practice. The revised edition emphasizes pharmacological management, with a new section on mental health care and additional cases on chronic conditions. Greater consideration is given to race, gender, ethnicity and their impact on management options. Contains more than 70 case studies Offers new cases on pelvic pain, substance abuse, food allergies, celiac disease, child abuse, pre-conception planning, and dermatology Includes discussion questions to help develop understanding Written for students and academics of nursing and nurse practitioners, The Family Nurse Practitioner is the ideal text for developing and expanding one's knowledge and comprehension of the diagnosis and management of patient care.
ISBN: 9781119603191Publication Date: 2021
Adolescent Health: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies
This new compendium contains AAP clinical practice guidelines, policy statements, and clinical reports of interest to physicians who care for adolescents. Sections include Unique needs of adolescents Caring for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth Contraception and gynecology E-cigarettes, marijuana use, and opioid use disorders Preventive health care, immunizations, and high blood pressure Media use Mental health Racism Sports participation and safety Tattooing, piercing, and scarification Transitioning adolescents to adulthood in the medical home Plus much more
ISBN: 9781610024303Publication Date: 2020
