Food and Nutritional Sciences Journals
The following are journals suggested by your instructors as being among the most authoritative in the field:
- Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - (1995-2003, 2012-present)
- American Journal of Preventative Medicine
- Journal of the American College of Nutrition
- Nutrition Review
- Biomedical Central Public Health
- Health Education Behavior
- Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) - (1998-present) in print 1945-present at Library
- Annals of Internal Medicine - (1960-present)
- Topics of Clinical Nutrition - available in print at McNeese Library (1992-present)
- Clinical Nutrition
- American Journal of Health Promotion
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition - (1952-2012)
Or...search our Library for eJournal Titles.
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowThis agriculture/ animal science database contains peer-review/scholarly and "other" articles and documents. You can only limit searches to full-text.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database provides articles for topics in Health care and wellness, including contemporary and alternative approaches. Searches can be limited to peer-review/ scholarly articles and full-text.
- CINAHL CompleteThis is one of the leading databases for information on topics in Nursing and Health-related fields. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles.
- Environment IndexThis database provides articles on topics related to agriculture, ecology, pollution, renewable energy, waste management, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text articles and articles with references (usually peer-reviewed/ scholarly).
- Health Source: Nursing/ Academic EditionThis database provides articles on topics related to medicine, nursing, nursing ethics, pediatrics, research, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
- ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health SourceSearch full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
Nutrition Students!
Students who are members of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics ($50 US annual fee) have access to the Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) of the Academy and the AND Journal.
Search for articles with Google Scholar
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.