What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.
Search For eJournal Titles
Databases
- American Chemical Society PublicationsContains full-text articles of journals published by the American Chemical Society from 1996 to the present. Users can browse an A-Z list of titles or view by subject area, in addition to standard searching.
- SciFinder ScholarThis database provides access to articles on topics related to agriculture, biology, chemistry, and more. Search for specific chemical compounds. Users can limit results to full-text articles.
Requires Registration (click the 'more information' icon above).
- Science & Technology CollectionThe Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.
- ChemWebAllows you to search over one million chemical abstracts. Although searching is free, registration is required.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsIncludes chemistry-related journals that are freely available on the Internet in full-text.
- ScienceDirectFrom SciVerse, this scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters from peer-reviewed sources. This resource is mainly an abstract, but there are some full text articles.