Evaluating Web SitesJust for Fun!
This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Biology and Health Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Biology and Health Sciences  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/bio407 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Interlibrary Loan (I.L.L.)

Can't find a book or article?

Request it for FREE via the library's interlibrary loan department

All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge

book-stack

Key Databases

Start your search for journal articles and resources by selecting any of these databases

  • Academic Search Complete
    Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
  • Agricola
    This agriculture/ animal science database contains peer-review/scholarly and "other" articles and documents. You can only limit searches to full-text.
  • BioOne
    This bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers.
  • Biological Abstracts  Icon
    This database offers few full-text articles. Most full-text articles are transcribed and not PDF formatted. Users cannot limit searches to peer-reviewed articles; but can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. The difference being that peer-reviewed journals contain book reviews, editorials, and other non-peer-reviewed content.
  • CINAHL Complete  Icon
    This is one of the leading databases for information on topics in Nursing and Health-related fields. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles.
  • Credo Literati  Icon
    Credo Literati is a completely customizable online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Literati covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
  • Environment Index
    This database provides articles on topics related to agriculture, ecology, pollution, renewable energy, waste management, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text articles and articles with references (usually peer-reviewed/ scholarly).
  • Green File
    This database provides articles on topics related to global warming, green architecture, recycling, sustainable practices, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
  • PubMed
    PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to PMC is free and unrestricted.
  • Science and Technology Collection
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to aeronautics, biology, chemistry, computer science, physics, science, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • Science Direct
    From SciVerse, this scientific database contains more than 10 million journal articles and book chapters from peer-reviewed sources.
  • SciFinder Scholar  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to agriculture, biology, chemistry, and more. Search for specific chemical compounds. Users can limit results to full-text articles.
    Requires Registration.
  • WorldCat
    Records of materials (books, manuscripts, videotapes, etc.) cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Search for articles with Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines.

TIP: Google Scholar finds can be misleading. Be aware that you should NEVER have to pay money for an item. First search the journal title in the serach box at the top of this page, and see if the library owns the material you need, if not, order the item for FREE through Interlibrary Loan (I.L.L.)



 


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip