- Agency for Health Care Policy and Research
A must see federal website for graduate nursing students-provides a gateway to news and announcements, funding opportunities, research findings, quality assessment, evidence-based practice, clinical practice guidelines and much more
- American Nursing Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent member nurses associations, its organizational affiliates, and its workforce advocacy affiliate, the Center for American Nurses. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nur
- Center for Disease Control
Offers national, state, and local health statistics, health information, publications, traveler's information, and more.
- College of Physicians of Philadelphia
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia advances the cause of health while upholding the ideals and heritage of medicine.
- Columbia Advanced Practice Nurse Associates
Innovative website maintained by the Columbia University School of Nursing for their nurse-managed clinic, definitely a trend-setter!
- Dept. of Health and Human Services Healthfinder
U.S. Government site providing consumer information.
The purpose of DiversityRx is to improve the accessibility and quality of health care for minority, immigrant, and indigenous communities.
- FedWorld Information Network
Managed by the US Department of Commerce-provides access to valuable federal databases, information network, and US government reports.
- Health Services Technology Assessment
Federal website offering access to clinical studies, Agency for Health Care Policy and Research.
- Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans.
- History of Vaccines
The History of Vaccines works to provide a living, changing chronicle of the compelling history of vaccination, from pre-Jennerian variolation practices, to the defeat of polio in the Western Hemisphere, to cutting-edge approaches to novel vaccines and vaccine delivery. The site aims to increase public knowledge and understanding of the ways in which vaccines, toxoids, and passive immunization work, how they have been developed, and the role they have played in the improvement of human health
- Louisiana Reports
Offers access to Louisiana government departments and their documents
- Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- Merck Manual of Medical Information - Home Edition
Complete Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy-sections for both consumers and health professionals.
- National Institute of Health
Internet gateway to national news and events and a vast resource for health information, funding opportunities, scientific resources, institutes and offices.
- National Library of Medicine
United States National Library of Medicine
- NursingNet - Nursing Resources
Super friendly resource for students and practicing nurses to access mentors and chatrooms for advice.
- Public Health Image Library
Provided by the Centers for Disease Control, the Public Health Image Library is a FREE resource that provides photos, videos, and illustrations. Most items are free of copyright restrictions and have a fair use statement attached.
- PubMed Help - Overview
A quick introduction to a complex database.
- PubMed Help - PICO
A video by the SUNY - Upstate Medical School shows you how to conduct searches using PICO topics including how to narrow your results to systematic reviews.
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
- TRIP database
The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
- Virtual Hospital
Managed by the University of Iowa and designed to be a digital health sciences library to help meet the information needs of health care providers and patients; goal is to "make the Internet a useful medical reference and health promotion tool;" contains hundreds of books and brochures.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.