Skip to main content

Acquisitions News at Frazar Memorial Library: Home

Wondering what books and other materials are new at Frazar Memorial Library? This is the place to find out.

Select Leisure Reading Books

The following is a sample of the leisure reading books currently available.  They are located on the New Releases shelves near the Public Services Desk.

Search the Library's Catalog

Use this box to search the library's catalog for books, audiovisual materials, archival holdings, government documents, and more.

Database Trial Available: HeinOnline

HeinOnline

An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections, HeinOnline includes most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation. Access available by clicking the logo above.  Trial ends February 9, 2019. Please evaluate your experience using HeinOnline by clicking the "Trial Database Evaluation Survey" at the top of this page.  Trial has been arranged through LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network.

Spotlight on Free Resources: Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of approximately 280 free online college textbooks on a wide range of academic subjects.  The textbooks have been written and reviewed for accuracy by faculty at various colleges and universities and are freely available to anyone to read and print.  Subjects include accounting and finance; business, management, and marketing; computer science and information systems; economics; engineering; foreign languages; general education; humanities and language; law; mathematics and statistics; natural and physical sciences; and social sciences.  Titles may be accessed by following the link above and through the library's catalog.  The Open Textbook Library is a project of the Open Textbook Network, with technical support statewide from LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network.  No special login is required from off campus.

Spotlight on New Books

Leisure Reading Books

Frazar Memorial Library has a leisure reading collection.  Through a subscription to Baker & Taylor's book leasing program, the library regularly offers current popular fiction and nonfiction titles, including The New York Times bestsellers.  Although the collection is currently small, new books will be added every few months.  We may choose to keep the most popular titles, or we may return them for new ones as their popularity wanes.  Under the plan, our collection will eventually reach 300 titles per year.

Leisure books are searchable in the library's catalog and are shelved in the library lobby near the Public Services Desk.  They circulate for the same length of time as other books.  Leisure books are easily identifiable by their clear mylar covers.

The leisure reading collection is in keeping with Frazar Memorial Library's mission of providing user-centered collections and services.  It allows us to maintain a dynamic collection that is relevant to our users while making optimal use of limited space and resources.

Stop by and see what we have to offer.  Comments or questions about the service and suggestions for possible future titles are welcome and may be forwarded to Lonnie Beene, Acquisitions Librarian, at lbeene@mcneese.edu or (337) 475-5724.

EBSCO Ebooks

Frazar Memorial Library makes electronic books (ebooks) available through its subscription to EBSCO's eBook Collection.  In addition to being accessible through the EBSCOhost website, our ebooks have records in the online catalog that direct you to ebook titles in EBSCOhost.  This is advantageous in that it shows both the print and electronic books we have on a given subject.

Ebooks are identifiable by "[electronic resource]" in the title, a material designator of "Electronic Book," and a Location of "EBSCO eBook--Web Access Required."  Since it is not always easy to distinguish print and ebook records from one another at a glance (especially if you're pressed for time), the easiest way to access the library's ebooks is to go directly to the EBSCOhost eBook Collection website and search by keyword or title.

EBSCO ebooks may be downloaded for reading offline for a limited amount of time.  Downloading to a Windows or Mac computer requires the use of Adobe Digital Editions software, which is available here as a free download.  (Do not download to library computers; they already have it).

For instructions on downloading EBSCO ebooks to a tablet, e-reader, or smartphone, click the "Transfer EBSCO eBooks to a Mobile Device" tab on the library's EBSCO eBooks page.

Subject Guide

Google Books Search

For those times when the library doesn't have what you need, perhaps a search of Google Books will help.  Please note, however, that Google Books does not make the complete text available for all books.  If you need assistance, contact the Reference Desk at (337) 475-5725.

Have a Purchase Suggestion?

If you know of a book or other resource (video, journal, database) that you think the library should purchase, click the "Purchase Request Form" tab at the top of this page to complete a purchase request form.  While we can't guarantee that we'll purchase everything, we do add items based on user suggestions, subject to available funds and appropriateness to the collection.  Thank you for your interest in improving Frazar Memorial Library.

Library Liaison Assignments

Above is a link to view the library liaison assignments (requires Adobe Reader).  Liaisons are those librarians responsible for working with departments to maintain the quality of the library collection in various disciplines.

Last update: March 6, 2017.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 |

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St., Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 800-622-3352
EOE/AA/ADA | A member of the University of Louisiana System | Web Disclaimer | Policy Statements | University Status & Emergency Preparedness