Skip to main content
Academic Search Complete
Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
The Criminal Justice Abstracts database provides comprehensive coverage of criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present, and is updated quarterly. Prepared in co-operation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library, Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
Homeland Security Digital Library
This database provides access to mostly essays on topics related to crime, gangs, law enforcement, police, terrorism, and more. All documents are available in full-text. These are not peer-reviewed.
SocINDEX with full text
This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, criminal justice, history, sociology, social studies, and more. Users may limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
Salem History Decades
Has a good crime/criminal section if you go to the Browse tab. This database examines the iconic personalities and moments that defined each decade from the 1930s to the 1990s. The database cover events, movements, people, and trends in the U.S. Full text searching is available as well as browsing by category, decade, geographic location, and topic.
Military and Government Collection
This database provides articles on topics related to History, Law enforcement, Military Science, Politics, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
CQ Researcher is developed by the Library of Congress's Research Division. They compose original, thorough, and unbiased analyses on many controversial, economic, environmental, political, and social issues. Although not peer-reviewed, each entry is generally considered to be authoritative as it is developed by the U.S. Government. All entries are available in full-text.
This database provides access to publications by the U.S. Government. Most documents are full-text. Congressional documents include anything that Congress has investigated or studied. Coverage goes back to the 1980s.
This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, performing Arts, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.
This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, behavior, psychology, social relations, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database provides access to articles on topics related to Anthropology, Mental Measurements, Psychology, Relationships, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
WorldCat First Search
This database provides access to bibliographic information on books available in libraries around the world. It is especially useful when seeking to order copies of materials through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
This database provides access to articles from major national and international newspapers. It also includes some transcripts from major television and radio broadcasts. The articles are not scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users may limit searches to full-text articles.
Boolean Operators help to focus your search by linking your search terms. There are three words that are used as Boolean connectors, AND, OR and NOT.
The diagrams on this page help to explain further how Boolean Operators work.
AND locates records containing both terms. For example, a subject search on "diet AND cancer" locates records that contain information on both diet and cancer as indicated by the overlapping yellow area below.
OR locates records matching any or all of the specified terms. For example, a search on "diet OR nutrition" locates records that contain information only about diet, records only about nutrition, and records that contain information on both diet and nutrition. OR expands your search
NOT locates records containing the first term but NOT the second. For example, a search on "cancer NOT diet" locates records only about cancer, and excludes any records about diet that also contain information about cancer.