Fun Stuff
- KLOU Signature SongRemember the KLOU radio station? Click the link above to hear their signature song.
- Lake Charles, My Home TownAlso from KLOU - a little ditty about just how great Lake Charles is!
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Collections include American Memory Project, Chronicling America, Folklife Center, Veterans History Project and many more.
- NARA's Digital VaultsThis is a fun site to use and explore primary sources.
- McNeese Archives YouTube channelSee videos about Lake Charles from the Archives collections.
Local History Links
- The Maude Reid Scrapbook IndexIndex to the Maude Reid Scrapbooks on loan from the Calcasieu Parish Public Library and housed in the McNeese Archives.
- 1895-1896 Lake Charles City DirectoryLink to the City Directory, courtesy of the Calcasieu Parish Public Library Genealogy Division.
- LSU Libraries: Special Collections Division HomepageLSU's Special Collections Division has lots of resources that pertain to Southwest Louisiana.
- LPB story about the 1910 Fire commemorationLouisiana Public Broadcasting's "Louisiana: The State We're In" featured a story about Lake Charles' Commemoration of the Great Fire of 1910.
- Historic New Orleans CollectionSearch the holdings of the Historic New Orleans Collection.
- Calcasieu Historical Preservation SocietyKeep up with the Society's efforts to preserve historic homes and buildings.
- Calcasieu Parish Public Library Genealogy DivisionContact the staff of the downtown library for any questions related to Genealogy.
Online Exhibits
Songs mentioning Southwest Louisiana places
“Bout It, Bout It II” by Master P, 1996.
“Cajun Love Song” by Leon Russell, 1972.
“Continental Trailways Blues” by Steve Earle, 1982.
"High Cotton" by Blue Water Highway, 2023.
“How Ya' Do Dat' Again” by Young Bleed, 2011.
“Lake Charles” by Lucinda Williams, 1998.
“Lake Charles Boogie” by Nellie Lutcher, 1948.
“The Lake Charles Waltz” by Phil Cunningham & Aly Bain, 2001.
“Live at Lake Charles” (album) by Fever Tree, 1978.
“Mo City Don Freestyle” by Z-Ro, 2005.
“Pennsylvania” by Annie Crane, 2007.
“Slow Loud And Bangin” by Z-Ro, 2013.
“Stet Troop '88!” by Stetsasonic, 2001.
“Sulphur to Sugarcane” by Elvis Costello, 2009.
“Take me Lake Charles” by Shinyribs, 2013.
“2 Kool 2 Be 4-gotten” by Lucinda Williams, 1998.
“21 Miles To Lake Charles Prison” by Johnny Paycheck, 1974.
“Up On Cripple Creek” by The Band, 1969.
Know another one that should be on this list? Email the Archives at archivesdept@mcneese.edu!