Mass Communication Journals
Electronic Databases
The databases below are particularly suited to the field of Journalism and Mass Communication. For other subjects, please visit the Library's Database Page here.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteThis database provides articles on topics related to communications, journalism, and public relations. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
- Business Source CompleteThis is the leading business database offering articles in the fields of accounting, economics, finance, marketing, and management. Users may limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles. Also available are country profiles, company profiles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and more.
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher is developed by the Library of Congress's Research Division. They compose original, thorough, and unbiased analyses on many controversial, economic, environmental, political, and social issues. Although not peer-reviewed, each entry is generally considered to be authoritative as it is developed by the U.S. Government. All entries are available in full-text.
- African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowGood History database to use for primary sources. There are few search options other than keyword searching. Use quotation marks around search terms for better results.
- American PressOnline access to Lake Charles newspaper. Click "E-Edition" link on paper's website to access online edition. Contains most recent four months of daily papers.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
- Nexis UniFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Features more than 15,000 full-text news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Coverage includes current events, politics, social issues, and more. Most documents are not peer-reviewed or scholarly.
Search for articles with Google Scholar
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.