Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to the databases mentioned below, the library subscribes to other multidisciplinary databases.
Under Geography Information you will find recommendations for topics in human & physical geography and Library of Congress narrower terms to help with your searching.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). The database contains 5,200,000+ records and includes printed works from as far back as the 15th century.
Biological Abstracts is a collection of bibliographic references for life science and biomedical research literature, covering peer-reviewed article abstracts from U.S. and international journals.
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
CORE is a of open access research papers retrieved from around the world.
Credo Reference provides background information to start your research, with over 3 million full-text entries alongside thousands of easily searchable images, audio files, and videos.
Environment Complete is a full-text database for environmental studies and provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs.
GeoRef is a bibliographic database for the Earth Sciences. An indispensible tool for researchers and students alike, GeoRef lets you understand the entire historical record of research on any topic in the geosciences.
GreenFILE is a database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
Religion & Philosophy Collection is a full-text database and includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines.
Sanborn Maps of Louisiana
Sanborn maps offers hundreds of historical maps covering over 150 Louisiana towns and cities. Maps range from 19th to mid-20th Century, and can be downloaded in PDF format.
Science & Technology Collection
Science & Technology Collection is a full-text database of top science journals. It covers an array of scientific and technical subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology and physics.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.