Last Updated: Jun 10, 2014
Can't find a book or article?
Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.
- Worldwide Arts Resources
This database has over 170,000 works of contemporary art. Search by medium, subject matter, price and theme...
- Voice of the Shuttle Art Sites
From the University of California-Santa Barbara, the art section of the Voice of the Shuttle humanities resource site.
- Web Gallery of Art
This web site contains over 12,400 digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1100 and 1800 supplemented with commentary on their technique and history.
- Getty Research Portal International
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
The oldest and most widely-circulated art magazine in the world.
- Art History Network
Has links to a timeline from the Metropolitan Museum of Art, journals, images and other useful websites.
- Art History Research Centre
Describing itself as first and foremost tool for art historical research on the internet, this site has access to search engines, newsgroups, mailing lists, library catalogs, and article indexes.
- Art History Resources on the Web
Excellent guide to art of all periods and countries. Includes links to index sites, pictures, and some textual materials.
A guide to online museums and image archives.
- Mother of All Art and Art History Links
Links to exhibits, university art departments, images and research reports.
- Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Small database of images for use by educators; covers only architecture and sculpture, mainly medieval & ancient.
- ArtLex Art Dictionary
Provides definitions and short articles on art terms, with links to images related to specific art styles or periods
- LOUISiana Digital Library
View the Louisiana State Museum Photograph Collection plus works from the Ogden Museum of Southern Art.
- New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
These 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers were mostly created before 1923
- Union List of Artist Names On Line
This index is from the Getty Research Institute will display an artist's preferred name.
- Google Art Project
More than 32,000 high resolution images from over 151 museums in 40 different countries.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art ebook collection
Collection of E-Books about Art History, freely available.
- Getty Publications Virtual Library
Collection of e-books freely available from the Getty.
- Contemporary Artists Index
The Contemporary Artists Index is a unique resource developed and maintained by the Cleveland Institute of Art's Library staff. Look here for artists, artists groups, photographers, craftspeople, designers, and design firms whose work appears in select publications in the library's collection. Covers over 31,000 artists appearing in more than 1,800 exhibition catalogs and art publications.
- Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Select "Imagebase" to view over 70,000 images from the the museum's collections. Includes collections in African and Japanese art
- Los Angeles County Museum of Art
This museum describes itself as the premiere visual arts museum in the Western United States. Permanent exhibits are shown ranging from decorative to ancient and Islamic art.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
In existence 1870, the Metropolitan Museum in New York City has a collection that now contains more than two million works of art from all points of the world ancient through modern times. According to this site, about 3,500 objects are reproduced online as well as its entire Department of European Paintings.
- National Gallery of Art
Online "tours" and images of selected parts of the museum's collection.
- National Portrait Gallery
Includes a search interface over 80,000 portrait records
- Smithsonian Institution
Access to the museums, libraries, archives, and research centers.
- Textile Museum
This Washington, D.C. museum is dedicated to furthering the understanding of mankind's creative achievements in the textile arts. In addition to information about exhibitions, there is a section dealing with the care and display of textiles.
- Whitney Museum of American Art
This site from one of world-renowned collections of 20th century art has online exhibits and a link to the Art Museum Image Consortium with over 50,000 searchable online images.
- Musee d'Orsay
This site of this famous Paris museum of impressionism located in a renovated railroad station has layouts of each floor, a panoramic view of its artworks, and a link to the Louvre as well as other notable museums.
- Tate Gallery
Serving two million visitors a year as the national collection of British art since 1500, this site gives the opportunity to see 8,000 works of art in its holdings
- Early American Paintings in the Worcester Art Museum
This attractive online exhibit explores early American painters and their works. The site features biographies of 20 artists and detailed information on 53 works, which also include numerous comparative images from other collections. Visitors may browse the collection via an interactive timeline or by artist, genre, or place of origin.
- WebMuseum, Paris: Famous Paintings Exhibition
Extensive selection of paintings and information about various (mostly dead and mostly famous) artists.
Presenting the art and science of albumen printing, this site brings together 19th century technical instruction, contemporary research, an online forum for conservation treatment and a wealth of images.
- American Museum of Photography
A virtual tour of a museum that has been on the Internet since 1996 displaying the private collection of William B. Becker with works dating from 1836 to the end of World War II.
- UCR California Museum of Photography
Exhibits of student art, a sampling of its images by over 1,000 photographers, the world's largest collection of vintage stereographs and photography done with digital scanners is included as well as pictures of some of its 10,000 cameras.
- History of Photography from it's Beginnings 'til the 1920s
Dr. Robert Leggat of Great Britain presents pen-portraits of many of the most important photographers of the period and some of the most significant processes used during the early days of photography. (1941-2011)