Last Updated: Jun 10, 2014
Can't find a book or article?
Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.
- Academic Search Complete
Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
- Art Full Text
This database provides access to bibliographic information on books available in libraries around the world. It is especially useful when seeking to order copies of materials through InterLibrary Loan (ILL). Full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications-now expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
- Art Index Retrospective
Covering contemporary art history, this database allows users to search journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. allows users to search 55 years of art journalism at a keystroke. Users can research leading English-language sources, plus others published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Besides periodicals, users have access to data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins. A unique resource, Art Index Retrospective helps users find contemporary criticism of art at th
This research service providing biographical and pricing information on American art and artists claims to list 25,000 artists. It offers general biographical information, descriptions of works (many with images) both sold and unsold, and an abbreviated bibliography.
- DIA Visual Resource Home Page
Searchable database of images from the Detroit Institute of the Arts. Search by category, artist, or title.
This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, Art and Art History, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option. Comprehensive full-text archives of important scholarly literature searchable by different disciplines.
- Project Muse
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles. Provides access to the full text of more than 200 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- Smithsonian Archives of American Art
From the Smithsonian Institute, a searchable database of the holdings of the Archives of American Art, including gallery guides, personal papers, photographs, and artists' sketchbooks. Information on how to access the material is provided.
- Smithsonian Art Online
This database provides access to images on topics related to many genres including art, culture, history, science, women, and more. The database also indexes and abstracts other materials available at the Smithsonian.
- Worldwide Books Exhibition Catalogues and other Books on Art
Database of more than 30,000 exhibition, catalogs and collections.
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals: What’s the Difference?
Some assignments require you to use only scholarly journals, not popular magazines. There is no foolproof way to tell the difference. However, there are some features you can look for to help you decide if a periodical is scholarly. (Read more...)
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.