- LOC Performing Arts Digital Library
The performing arts digital library integrates the collections, commissions and live concerts of the Library of Congress, allowing users to discover the Library's music and performing-arts collections through a single gateway on the Web. The site brings together thousands of materials digitized from the Library's vast collections of sheet music, sound recordings, moving images, manuscripts, photographs, and oral histories, along with essays by leading researchers in the performing arts.
- Oxford Music Online
With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users.
This database provides articles on topics related to Performing Arts and many other areas. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
- LexisNexis Academic
This database provides articles from many major newspapers, magazines, and legal resources. Coverage varies to include business, current events, politics, social issues, and more. Most documents are available in full-text. Most documents are not peer-reviewed/ scholarly.
- Literary Reference Center
This database provides articles, summaries, criticism, reviews, and more on literature, fiction, short stories, poetry, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text articles, and articles with references.
- Literature Resource Center
Access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes materials from Contemporary Authors, Literary Criticism sets (19th, 20th, & contemporary) and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Twayne Author Series
This database provides access to essays on topics related to literary biography, criticism, genres, and more. All material is available in full-text. The essays are not scholarly/ peer-reviewed.
- New York Public Library Research
Electronic Resources (Databases & Internet), Tools & Services. Articles, Archives, DVD's, eBooks, Movies, Music, Rare Books, Web Resources. Some free, some accessible with NYPL Library Card / $25 per year, some available through InterLibrary Loan from regional libraries.
- Project Gutenberg
This database provides access to ebooks that are free from copyright. Included are most of the classics as well as some major historical documents. Emphasis is on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. All content is available in full-text.
- Project Muse
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.
- Read Print
This database provides access to free ebooks on many topics. The collection includes fiction and non-fiction. Emphasis appears to be on fiction including the classics, mystery, Shakespeare, and science fiction.
- Please see our Database page for the following and other helpful links
ABC-CLIO eBooks, Academic Search Complete, Book Collection: NonFiction, Business Source Complete, EBSCO eBooks, Education Research Complete, Film and Television Literature Index with Full-Text, Humanities International Complete, Literary Reference Center, etc.