Nursing Journals
Electronic Books from Library Catalog (some examples from collection)
For a more electronic books simply search the library catalog at library.mcneese.edu and see the various titles that are available electronically!
You can also visit the databases page and select Ebooks from EBSCOhost and start a search.
-
Writing Research: Transforming Data into Text
by
Call Number: LB2369 .W755 2003 EBISBN: 0443071829Publication Date: 2003This is an electronic book or ebook -
The New Leadership Challenge: Creating the Future of Nursing 3rd Edition
by
Call Number: RT89 .G77 2009 EBISBN: 0803620454This is an electronic book or ebook -
How to Survive & Maybe Even Love Nursing School : a Guide for Students By Students 3rd Edition
by
Call Number: RT73 .D79 2008 EBISBN: 0803618298This is an electronic book or ebook
Reference Collection (some examples from collection)
-
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions (Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions)
by
Call Number: REF R121 .M89 2009ISBN: 0323049370Location: Reference Department, First Floor -
Encyclopedia of nursing research
by
Call Number: REF RT81.5 .E53 2006ISBN: 0826198120Location: Reference Department, First Floor
Browse the Library Shelves
Look for MEDICINE related books and journals in this call number range:
| R | Medicine (General) |
| RA | Medicine (public aspects) |
| RB | Pathology |
| RC | Internal Medicine |
| RD | Surgery |
| RE | Ophthalmology |
| RF | Otorhinolaryngology |
| RG | Gynecology & obstetrics |
| RJ | Pediatrics |
| RK | Dentistry |
| RL | Dermatology |
| RM | Therapeutics & pharmacology |
| RS | Pharmacy & material medical |
| RT | Nursing |
| RX | Homeopathy |
| RZ | Homeopathy |
Books
-
Nursing Drug Guide
by
A comprehensive, up-to-date drug guide for nursing students and practicing nurses, Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide provides quick A-to-Z access to current, vital drug information. The book provides complete monographs for 725 common drugs, including generic and trade names, pronunciations, pregnancy risk category, controlled substance schedule (if appropriate), drug classes, therapeutic actions, indications, contraindications and cautions, available forms, dosages, pharmacokinetics, IV facts (if appropriate), adverse effects, interactions, and nursing considerations organized by nursing process steps (assessment, interventions, and teaching points). The Lippincott Nursing Drug Guide is the only drug book that includes a DO NOT CRUSH" logo so nurses can quickly identify medications that should not be crushed - a key patient safety feature. More than 20 appendices cover a wealth of additional information, from key facts on more than 200 less commonly used drugs to alternative and complementary therapies, pediatric dosages, federal drug classifications, normal lab values, topical and ophthalmic drugs, combination products, CYP450 metabolized drugs, and more. The book also includes a 32-page full-color photoguide to pills and capsules and a detailed index for quick retrieval of needed information. The electronic ancillary, called the Web Toolkit, contains the latest FDA updates on new drugs, indications, and warnings; videos on safe drug administration; an audio pronunciatiion guide; an English-Spanish translator; mechanisms and sites of action graphics for selected drugs; updated NCLEX-style questions; a free CE test; bonus discounts; and more.
ISBN: 9781469839370Publication Date: 2014-06-26
Books
-
Nursing Ethics: Feminist Perspectives
The aim of this book is to show how feminist perspectives can extend and advance the field of nursing ethics. It engages in the broader nursing ethics project of critiquing existing ethical frameworks as well as constructing and developing alternative understandings, concepts, and methodologies. All of the contributors draw attention to the operations of power inherent in moral relationships at individual, institutional, cultural, and socio-political levels. The early essays chart the development of feminist perspectives in the field of nursing ethics from the late 19th century to the present day and consider the impact of gender roles and gendered understandings on the moral lives of nurses, patients and families. They also consider the transformative potential of feminist perspectives to widen the scope of nursing and midwifery practices to include the social, economic, cultural and political dimensions of moral decision-making in health care settings. The second half of thebook draws on feminist insights to critically discuss the role of nurses and midwives in leadership, healthcare organisations, and research as well as the provision of particular forms of care e.g. care in the home and abortion care.
ISBN: 9783030491031Publication Date: 2020 -
Nursing and Humanities
The humanities have long been recognized as having a place in nursing knowledge, and have been used in education, theory, and research by nurses. However, the place of humanities in nursing has always remained ambiguous. This book offers an in-depth exploration of the relationship between humanities and nursing. The book starts with a survey of the history of humanities in nursing, in comparison with medical humanities and in the context of the emergence of interdisciplinary health humanities. There is a description of applications of humanities within nursing. A central section offers an argument for placing the humanities firmly within a mixed model of nursing knowledge that is based upon embodied cognition. Final chapters explore these ideas through a series of essays on topics of humanities as a form of intervention, prose and poetry in relation to nursing, and applications of the Buddhist concept of interdependence. Nursing and Humanities is intended primarily for nurse academics and graduate students, who have an interest in nursing theory, applications of arts and humanities in education, and qualitative research approaches. It will also interest practicing nurses who are looking for an account of nursing that combines the technical and the human.
ISBN: 9780367347765Publication Date: 2020 -
Ethical Case Studies Workbook
Healthcare delivery can present ethical conflicts and dilemmas for advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs)—nurses who already have a myriad of responsibilities in caring for patients. Ethical Case Studies for Advanced Practice Nurses improves APRNs'agility to resolve ethical quandaries encountered in primary care, hospital-based, higher education, and administration beyond community settings. Through case studies examining various types of ethical conflicts, the authors empower APRNs and students with the critical knowledge and skills they need to handle even the most complex dilemmas in their practice. By applying a set of criteria and framework, this book guides APRNs to use critical thinking to make ethically sound decisions.
ISBN: 9781646480920Publication Date: 2022
-
Cardiac Nursing
Awarded Third Place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Critical Care/Emergency, and 5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
ISBN: 9781975106324Publication Date: 2021 -
Neonatal Care: a Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies
by
Neonatal Care: A Compendium of AAP Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies, 2nd Edition, provides the most recent and trustworthy recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Committee on Fetus and Newborn as well as other relevant committees, sections, and councils. This compendium contains all of the collected AAP clinical practice guidelines, policy statements, and clinical and technical reports related to the quality care of newborns and infants. Find more than 50 different topics organized into 9 sections for easy reference, including the highly anticipated "Clinical Practice Guideline Revision: Diagnosis and Management of Hyperbilirubinemia in the Newborn Infant 35 or More Weeks of Gestation." Each statement or report contains an abstract overview, a concise presentation and critique of the available data, and a summary of the findings and/or recommendations, along with a current and comprehensive bibliography. TOPICS INCLUDE Delivery and discharge Newborn screening High-risk infants and preterm birth Respiratory support Infections and vaccinations Complications and issues Safe sleep SIDS and infant death And more!
ISBN: 9781610024150Publication Date: 2023
-
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice
How do you solve population-level health problems, develop nursing inventions, and apply them to clinical practice? This problem-solving, case-based approach shows you how to apply public health knowledge across all settings and populations. You'll encounter different case studies in every chapter as you explore concepts such as community assessments, public health policy, and surveillance. Step by step, you'll develop the knowledge and skills you need to apply public health principles across a variety of health care settings, special populations, and scenarios, and to evaluate their effectiveness. New!Healthy People 2030 boxes that present its goals and objectives and discuss how to apply them to everyday work settings New & Expanded! Content on communicable diseases and pandemics and how they affect the structure of public health, plus updated coverage of the social determinants of health and vulnerable populations New! "Why It Matters" boxes exploring the clinical nurse's role in public and community health and illustrating the application of theory to practice Three case studies in each chapter, "Solving the Mystery," "Applying Public Health Science," and one at the end of the chapter to provide examples of the step-by-step processes that enable you to apply public health principles in the real world Four simulation scenarios (facilitator and participant versions) that cover hot topics tied to problem-based learning as well as a new simulation scenario covering social determinants of health Coverage of public health nursing competencies and roles that highlights national standards in public health "Evidence-Based Practice" boxes illustrating how research and its resulting evidence support and inform public health nursing practice Callout boxes in each chapter highlighting relevant Healthy People 2030 information, evidence-based practice, and rate calculations Problem-based learning approach featuring exercises such as critical-thinking and end-of-chapter questions to enhance your skills and enable you to apply what you're learning
ISBN: 9781719647144Publication Date: 2023 -
Taking Action
The crucible of the global pandemic, racial injustice, and a crippling nursing shortage has sparked increasing calls for nursing to address its own problems from inequity to structural racism. In response, authors Susan B. Hassmiller and Gaea A. Daniel enlisted nearly 70 national and international nursing leaders to tackle the most pressing issues confronting the profession. Taking Action: Top 10 Priorities to Promote Health Equity and Well-Being in Nursing spotlights 10 critical themes through data, essays, discussion points, and action items, equipping readers to move beyond conversation to action. ABOUT THE AUTHORS Susan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN, is the founder and Principal of Sulu Coaching and Consulting, with a practice focused on healthcare leaders, and a Hudson/ICF-certified Executive/Leadership Coach. Gaea A. Daniel, PhD, RN, is Assistant Professor at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University whose research focuses on understanding the sociocultural and environmental influences that affect sexual health behaviors and outcomes related to toxic environmental exposures.
ISBN: 9781646482047Publication Date: 2023
-
Against Medical Advice: Addressing Treatment Refusal
Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in both Child Health and History and Public Policy! When a patient or family refuses treatment-maybe even lifesaving treatment-because it is contrary to their social, religious, or cultural beliefs, it can plunge healthcare providers, families, and patients into a difficult, emotionally charged conversation. Complex and diverse ethical dilemmas such as this can profoundly impact the health, welfare, and mental and emotional well-being of everyone involved. What's more, today's nurses and healthcare professionals will almost inevitably face this situation or one like it. Against Medical Advice details many of the medical, legal, social, cultural, and religious factors associated with treatment refusals. Authors Luanne Linnard-Palmer and Ellen Christiansen prepare healthcare professionals to compassionately assess and understand people's beliefs, cultures, and philosophical perspectives. Their proven strategies and step-by-step examples guide providers to consider the patient's and family's point of view, share concerns with other healthcare team members, and negotiate the best possible outcome for all involved.
ISBN: 9781646480500Publication Date: 2021
