Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
English and Foreign Language Journals
Search For eJournal Titles
Academic Search Complete
Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
Book Review Digest
This databases indexes many periodicals on books in the English language. The reviews go back to about 1983. The database occasionally includes excerpts from the reviews and summaries of the books. Users may limit searches to full-text and peer-review journals; but there are very few full-text articles available through this database.
Columbia Granger's Poetry Database
Columbia Granger's Poetry Database, produced by Columbia University Press, contains works of poetry found in anthologies, and volumes of collected works and selected works for individual poets. Currently, there are more than 425,000 poem citations and over 219,000 poems in full text.
This database provides articles on topics related to business, law, literature, medicine, social science, and science. All articles are in Spanish or Portugese. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
Humanities International Complete
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, fiction, literature, philosophy, poetry, and more. Emphasis is on 20th Century Humanities. Users cannot limit searches by full-text articles. Users may limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, performing Arts, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
Literary Reference Center
This database provides articles, summaries, criticism, reviews, and more on literature, fiction, short stories, poetry, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text articles, and articles with references.
Literature Resource Center
This database provides articles and essays on topics related to literature such as British, Classical, Medieval, 19th Century, 20th Century, and more narrow eras and genres. Most documents are from Gale literary reference works. Users may limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholalry articles.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
This database provides information about the periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Entries describe publication frequency, peer-review, scope, submission guidelines, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
This database provides access to articles on topics related to folklore, history, language, performing arts, and more. Most articles are in English. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.
Twayne's Author Series
This database provides access to essays on topics related to literary biography, criticism, genres, and more. All material is available in full-text. The essays are not scholarly/ peer-reviewed.
Search for articles with Google Scholar
What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.