This is the "Renovation FAQ" page of the "Renovation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Renovation  

Library Renovation Information
Last Updated: Jan 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/renovation Print Guide RSS Updates
Renovation FAQ Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Submit Your Question

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Frazar Memorial Library is closed for renovations.

 

The library's renovations include repairing the foundation, upgrading air conditioning/heating systems, upgrading lighting, ensuring ADA compliance in restrooms and access to collections, upgrading fire alarms and sprinkler systems, new flooring and ceilings, and various modern upgrades. These items will fix the functional problems with the building.

The project consists of two phases. First, the four floors of the addition side (housing the general book stacks and Government Information) will be renovated, then the two floors of the original building (mostly offices and service desks). Each phase will take around 9 months with a short break in between. In all, the project will take around 2 years.

The library staff will strive to maintain a high level of service and a reliable schedule for students, faculty, and staff who want to use library resources during the renovation.

 

When will the MSU Library renovation occur and how long will it last?

Where is the alternate location for the library during the renovation?

Did the library's hours change?

How do I check out books, DVDs, and reserve materials?

How do I use E-Books online or download one to my mobile device?

What items can I access online?

Will I still be able to borrow books and journal articles through InterLibrary Loan?

Will Archives be available for research?

How do I obtain items from the Government Information Department?

Will I be able to recommend books for purchase or donate books?

Will parking behind the building be affected?

What will happen to the Friends of the Library Book Sale?

When was the library built?

Where can I find group study space?

Where can I find scanners to use?

 

 

When will the MSU Library renovation occur and how long will it last?

It will begin in 2014 and will last approximately 2 years.

 

Where is the alternate location for the library during the renovation?

The library's operations are now in Parra Ballroom in the New Ranch. The temporary location has a study area with 16 computers, and librarians are available to assist students, faculty, and staff with information needs.

 

Will the library's hours change?

The library's hours remain unchanged.  For current information please click on our Library Info tab and Hours link, or call Circulation 475-5722 or Reference 475-5725.

 

How do I check out books, DVDs, and reserve materials?

Approximately 8,000 of the most frequently-used books are in Parra Ballroom, and librarians are able to retrieve books and other materials from Frazar Library as needed. DVDs, reserve materials, test books, and educational assessment kits are also available in Parra Ballroom.

 

Search the library catalog for books and other materials. All location information for an item is found in its catalog record. To request an item located in Parra Ballroom, please visit the service desk, and a library staff member will retrieve it for you. To request an item located in Frazar Library, please complete the paper form at the library's service desk in Parra, or complete this form.

 

For further information, call a librarian at 337-475-5725.

 


How do I use E-Books online or download one to my mobile device?

On our main page, http://library.mcneese.edu, click on e-Books Guide in the right column.

 

What items can I access online?

Electronic books and electronic government documents may be accessed by searching our library catalog. Click on the URL below the record to open the ebook you would like to view. Journal articles may be accessed through our database collection available by clicking on “Databases” on the library home page.

For assistance accessing electronic materials, please contact a reference librarian at 337-475-5725.

 

Will I still be able to borrow books and journal articles through Interlibrary Loan?

Yes. To create an ILL account, go to the Departments tab on our main page and choose ILL.  For more information please contact ILL at 337-475-5726 or 337-475-5909.

 

Will Archives be available for research?

Archives and Special Collections Department materials will be available by appointment only. Please contact the Archivist at archivesdept@mcneese.edu or 337-475-5731 to schedule an appointment at least one day in advance. Visit their website under the Department tab for more information about the collections.



How do I obtain items from the Government Information Department?

The Government Information Department will be temporarily relocated to Parra Ballroom. Library users will have access to all electronic government documents through the library catalog and the government information webpage. Physical documents may be retrieved by government information librarians.  Please contact Government Information at 337-475-5736 for more information or their website under the Department tab.

 

Will I be able to recommend books for purchase or donate books?

We encourage faculty, staff, students and Friends of the Library to recommend books that would enhance our collection.  Please choose Acquisitions under the Departments tab for more information about recommendations. The library will not accept donations during the renovation. For further questions, please contact the Acquisitions Department at 337-475-5721.



Will parking behind the building be affected?
The parking lot may be closed to allow space for necessary equipment during construction.

 

What will happen to the Friends of the Library Book Sale?

The Friends of the Library Annual Book Sale has been suspended pending the completion of the renovation.

When was the library built?


The original building was erected in 1961. A four-story addition to the original structure was completed in 1974. The last renovation was in 1986 and mostly involved new offices and aesthetic changes. So there has never been a structural renovation of the building. Four stories filled with shelves of books weighs a lot and so the foundation is sinking into the soft Louisiana earth. Additionally, the nature of libraries and the way students research has changed dramatically since 1961 and even since 1986. For example, today we need lots more electrical outlets and internet connections for computers. That wasn’t very important in 1961!

 

Where can I find group study space?

The Gallery Room in the New Ranch can be reserved for study groups for 2 hours at a time. Please visit the Student Union office on the second floor of the New Ranch to reserve a time for your study group.

 

Where can I find scanners to use?

Scanners For Student Use are currently available in Holbrook TASC Lab in the Old Ranch and in the Academic Computing Center (ACC) in Kirkman Lab on the first floor.
COMING SOON:.  A  high-end book scanner for student use in Parra Ballroom.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip