This is the "Find Articles" page of the "School Counseling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

School Counseling  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/schoolcounseling Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Request A Journal Article

Can't find a book or article?

Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.

 

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.

 

Search For eJournal Titles

The search box below uses EBSCO A to Z to find electronic journals in the McNeese library databases.  A simple keyword search is usually most efficient, although advanced search features are available.

Advanced search

Databases

The following databases are most likely to contain information of interest to school counselors, students, and faculty.  Additional databases are available on the library's Databases page.

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
  • Credo Literati  Icon
    Credo Literati is a completely customizable online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering 551 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Literati covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
  • Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)  Icon
    This databases indexes and offers previews to PhD dissertations and Master's theses, especially for topics in the social sciences and nursing and health care fields. The previews generally include a table of contents. All documents should be peer-reviewed/ scholarly; but access is available through ILL or direct purchase.
  • Education Research Complete
    This database provides articles on topics related to all levels of education, administration, funding, testing, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
  • Educational Administration Abstracts
    This database provides articles on topics related to education leadership, management, and research. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles. A large portion of the database does offer full-text articles.
  • ERIC (EBSCOhost)  Icon
    This is the premier database on topics related to education. The EBSCOhost version includes more full-text content than the government version. Users can limit searches by full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles.
  • ERIC (U.S. Government)  Icon
    This database provides articles on topics related to education. This government-sponsored site offers less content than the EBSCOhost version. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.
  • FDsys (Federal Digital System)  Icon
    This database provides access to publications by the U.S. Government. Most documents are full-text. Congressional documents include anything that Congress has investigated or studied. Coverage goes back to the 1980s.
  • LearningExpress  Icon  Icon
    This database provides access to study guides and practice exams for Civil Service employees, ESLI, GED, Math, Reading Comprehension, and more. Users need to register to create their own free accounts.
  • Newspaper Source  Icon
    This database provides access to articles from major national and international newspapers. It also includes some transcripts from major television and radio broadcasts. The articles are not scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users may limit searches to full-text articles.
  • Professional Development Collection  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to Classroom Management, Education, Leadership, Theory, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • PsycCRITIQUES
    This database provides access to book reviews and some articles on topics related to Ethics, Psychology, Relationships, Thought, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text articles through the advanced search option.
  • PsychINFO  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, behavior, psychology, social relations, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to Anthropology, Mental Measurements, Psychology, Relationships, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, criminal justice, history, sociology, social studies, and more. Users may limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • Teacher Reference Center  Icon
    This database provides access to articles on topics related to assessment, classroom management, education, literacy standards, school administration, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
  • VAST: Academic Video Online
    Video subscription service containing thousands of award-winning film and video titles (not just clips) in a wide range of disciplines.
  • WorldCat First Search  Icon
    This database provides access to bibliographic information on books available in libraries around the world. It is especially useful when seeking to order copies of materials through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
  • WorldCat McNeese Local  Icon
    Search for books, journals, etc. at the McNeese Library. Also find other libraries in the area that have your item. WorldCat local is especially useful when seeking to order copies of materials through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Search for articles with Google Scholar




McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip