BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticles
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationTechnical ReportsMiscellaneous
This is the "Miscellaneous" page of the "Citation Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Citation Style Guides  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/citation Print Guide RSS Updates

Miscellaneous Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Examples

Interviews Sec. 17.6.3:

Generally, these are cited only in Endnotes/ Footnotes.  Include in Bibliography only if crucial to argument or frequently cited.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Andrew Macmillan, interview by author,

San Diego, CA, March 2, 2007.

 

     Benjamin Spock, interview by Milton J.E.

Senn, November 20, 1974, interview 67A,

transcript, Senn Oral History Collection,

National Library of Medicine, Bethesda, MD.


Lectures/ Speeches Sec. 17.6.2:

Bibliography:

Skocpol, Theda. "Voice and Inequality: The

     Transformation of American Civic Democracy."

     Presidential address, annual meeting of the

     American Political Science Association,

     Philadelphia, PA, August 28, 2003.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Theda Skocpol, : "Voice and Equality: The

Transformation of American Civic Democracy"

(presidential address, annual meeting of the

American Political Science Association,

Philadelphia, PA, August 28, 2003). 

 


 

Manuscript Collections (letters, meeting minutes, reports) Sec. 17.6.4:

Use quotations for specific titles, not generic titles such as reports or meeting minutes.

You have some leeway in adding locator information if page numbers are not present.  You decide what to include.

For letters, cite the author of the letter followed by "to" and the recipient.  Chicago style assumes it is a letter unless further identified as memorandum, telegram, etc.

 

Bibliography:

Chicago style prefers citing these sources in endnotes/ footnotes.  If the source is frequently cited or crucial to your argument, you may include in the bibliography. 

Cite the collection rather than individual items.

Egmont Manuscripts. Phillipps Collection. University of Georgia Library, Athens. 

 

Charles Merriam Papers, University of Chicago Library.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     James Oglethorpe to the Trustees, January 13, 1733,

Phillipps Collection of Egmont Manuscripts, 14200:13,

University of Georgia Library, Athens (hereafter cited as

Egmont MSS).

 

     Burton to Merriam, telegram, January 26, 1923,

Charles Merriam Papers, University of Chicago Library. 

 


Play/ Performance Sec. 17.8.2:

Bibliography:

Plays/ Performances are cited only in endnotes/ footnotes.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Birdie Blue, by Cheryl L. West, directed by Seret

Scott, Second Stage Theater, New York, June 22, 2005.

 

     Yuja Wang, pianist, "La Valse," by Maurice Ravel,

Orchestra Hall, Chicago, March 26, 2006.

 


Film/ Television Sec. 17.8.3 & 17.8.5:

Television is cited only in endnotes/ footnotes.  There is a style preference to include such material in the text rather than notes. 

 

Bibliography:

Cleese, John, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, and

     Michael Palin. "Commentaries." Disc 2. Monty Python

     and the Holy Grail, special ed. DVD. Directed by Terry

     Gilliam and Terry Jones. Culver City, CA: Columbia

     TriStar Home Entertainment, 2001.

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle,Terry Jones,

and Michael Palin, "Commentaries," Disc 2, Monty

Python and the Holy Grail, special ed. DVD. Directed

by Terry Gilliam and Terry Jones.  (Culver City, CA:

Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment, 2001).

 


Dissertation and Theses Sec. 17.6.1:

Bibliography:                                                                      Online:

Murphy, Priscilla Coit. "What a Book Can Do: Silent                 Murphy, Priscilla Coit. "What a Book Can Do: Silent

     Spring and Media-Borne Public Debate." PhD                          Spring and Media-Borne Public Debate." PhD

     diss., University of North Carolina, 2000.                                    diss., University of North Carolina, 2000. in

                                                                                                                  ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, http://

                                                                                                                  proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=727710781&

                                                                                                                  sid=2&Fmt=2&clientId=13392&RQT=309&

                                                                                                                  VName=PQD (accessed April 1, 2006). 

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Priscilla Coit Murphy, "What a Book Can Do:                               Priscilla Coit Murphy, "What a Book Can Do:

Silent Spring and Media-Borne Public Debate"                      Silent Spring and Media-Borne Public Debate"

(PhD diss, University of North Carolina, 2000), 15.               (PhD diss, University of North Carolina, 2000), 15,

                                                                                                         in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, http://proquest.

                                                                                                         umi.com/pqdweb?did=727710781&sid=2&Fmt=2&

                                                                                                         clientId=13392&RQT=309&VName=PQD (accessed

                                                                                                         April 1, 2006).

Citation Services


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip