BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationMiscellaneous
BooksArticles
BooksArticlesWebsitesGovernment InformationTechnical ReportsMiscellaneous
This is the "Websites" page of the "Citation Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Citation Style Guides  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/citation Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Form

Include as much of the following as possible.

Bibliography:

Author. "Title of webpage." Owner of the website.

     URL (Date accessed).

 

Endnote/ footnote:

     Author, "Title of webpage," Owner of the website,

URL (Date accessed). 

 

Examples

Webpage Sec. 17.7.1:

Bibliography:

Avalon Project at Yale Law School. "Camp David

     Accords, September 17, 1978," Lillian

     Goldman Law Library. http://www.yale.edu/law

     web/avalon/mideast/campdav.htm (accessed

     May 20, 2008).

 

Endnote/ Footnote:

     Avalon Project at Yale Law School, "Camp

David Accords, September 17, 1978," Lillian

Goldman Law Library. http://www.yale.edu/law

web/avalon/mideast/campdav.htm (accessed

May 20, 2008).

 


Essay in a library database Sec. 17.5.9:

The Chicago Manual of Style, Turabian, Rampolla, Ebscohost, and others all offer subtle differences on the correct way to cite this type of resource. 

Usually, this type of source (non-scholarly) is NOT included in a bibliography, just the notes unless it is crucial to your thesis. 

Cite as article from a database, or just the database if it is not peer-reviewd.

Bibliography:

"DATAMONITOR: Barnes & Noble Inc." Barnes &                                        

     Noble Inc. SWOT Analysis (September 2010):                                          Business Source Complete. http://www.

     1-15. Business Source Complete, http://www.                    OR                        ebscohost.com/

     ebscohost.com (accessed January 8, 2011).                                              [Only use this format if you have endnotes/ footnotes.]

 

Endnote/ Footnote:

     "DATAMONITOR: Barnes & Noble Inc.," Barnes

& Noble Inc. SWOT Analysis (September 2010): 10,

Business Source Complete, http://www.ebschohost.

com (accessed January 8, 20110). 

 


E-Book Sec. 17.1.10:

 

Bibliography:

Brasseau, Carl. Acadian to Cajun: Transformation of a People,

     1803-1977. Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1992.

     www.Netlibrary.com (accessed June 25, 2008).

 

Samora, Julian, and Patricia Vandel Simon. A History of the

     Mexican-American People. Rev. ed. (East Lancing, MI:

     Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University,

     2000).  http://www.jsri.msu.edu/museum/pubs/MexAmHist/

     chapter14.html#six (accessed December 18, 2005).

 

Endnotes/ Footnotes:

     Carl Brasseau, Acadian to Cajun: Transformation of a

People, 1803-1877 (Jackson: University Press of Mississippi,

1992. www.Netlibrary.com (accessed June 25, 2008).

 

     Julian Samora and Patricia Vandel Simon. A History of

the Mexican-American People. Rev. ed. (East Lancing, MI:

Julian Samora Research Institute, Michigan State University,

2000), under "Civil War in Mexico,"  http://www.jsri.msu.edu/

museum/pubs/MexAmHist/chapter14.html#six (accessed

December 18, 2005).


Multimedia Sec. 17.8.6:

The format is similar to other entries except for 2 ways.  In both bibliography and endnotes/ footnotes, you will cite the medium such as MP3 or DVD.  Also, in the endnotes/ footnotes, you will also include the time at which cited material appears in the file.

Bibliography:

BBC. "Blair Announces New Africa Panel." BBC News Website.

     Windows Media Player video file. 3:43, http://news.bbc.co.

     uk/nolavconsole/ifs_news/hi/newsid_5110000/newsit_5119

     200/nb_wm_511962.stm (accessed June 27, 2006). 

 

Endnote/ Footnote:

     BBC, "Blair Announces New Africa Panel." BBC News Website.

Windows Media Player video file. 3:43, http://news.bbc.co.uk/nola

vconsole/ifs_news/hi/newsid_5110000/newsit_5119200/nb_wm_5

11962.stm (accessed June 27, 2006). 


News article - online Sec 17.4:

In most cases, only cite news articles in endnotes/ footnotes.

Bibliography:

Baker, Peter and Jeffrey Zeleny. "Obama Hails Judge as

     Inspiring." New York Times, May 26, 2009. http://www.

     nytimes.com (accessed July 20, 2009). 

 

Endnote/ Footnote:

     Peter Barker and Jeffrey Zeleny, "Obama Hails Judge

as Inspiring," New York Times, May 26, 2009, http://www.

nytimes.com (accessed July 20, 2009). 

Citation Services


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip