CatalogDatabasesCitation/Style GuidesGovernment InformationInterlibrary LoanArchivesCurriculum Materials Center
Director's WelcomeHoursDirectionsPoliciesContactFAQLiaisons
AcquisitionsArchivesCirculationGovernment InformationInterlibrary LoanReference
HomeworkLAFree Services for StudentsRegistration Help
This is the "Home" page of the "McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library  

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/content.php?pid=142835 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Hours


Spring Hours

Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
Sunday

7:45am-10:30pm
7:45am-10:30pm
7:45am-10:30pm
7:45am-10:30pm
7:45am-4:30pm
1:00pm-5:00pm
2:00pm-10:00pm

see Complete Schedule

Guides

Get all of your research help in one place using helpful Research Guides! View ALL GUIDES or choose one from the selection below:

 

Search the Library Catalog

Search the McNeese Frazar Memorial Library Catalog

Advanced Search | Request Materials | My Account | Reserves | Interlibrary loan | Digital library 

?What is this?

 

Search Databases & Catalog Together

EBSCO Discovery Service:
Search for Articles, Books, DVDs, and more
Advanced Search

Access All
DATABASES
and
JOURNALS

 

Alternative Study Space

(Woman carrying books)

Need A Place To Study?

Used to studying in the library?

Don't know where to go during renovation?

See our list of alternative study locations.

 

 

Spring Break Hours

The library and the CMC will only be open until 4:30 p.m. this week. 

Tuesday 22nd 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday 23rd 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday 24th 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday 25th 7:45 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday 26th 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Sunday 27th 2:00 PM - 10:00 PM











The full schedule of hours is available.

 

Frazar Memorial Library Celebrates National Poetry Month

April 2014 is National Poetry Month, and below is a selection of titles from Frazar Memorial Library's collection to help you celebrate.  These titles may be found in various locations.  Liesure reading books are shelved in the library lobby next to the Circulation Desk.  Books in the regular circulating collection may be requested at the Circulation Desk.  Electronic books are found online.  All are searchable through the library's catalog.  Please feel free to ask the library staff for assistance.

Cover Art
Chasing Utopia: A Hybrid - Nikki Giovanni
Call Number: PS3557.I55 C47 2013
ISBN: 9780688156978
Publication Date: 2013-10-29
From publisher's website: "Nikki Giovanni's poetry has spurred movements and inspired songs, turned hearts and informed generations. She's been hailed as a healer and as a national treasure. But Giovanni's heart resides in the everyday, where family and lovers gather, friends commune, and those no longer with us are remembered. And at every gathering there is food—food as sustenance, food as aphrodisiac, food as memory. A pot of beans is flavored with her mother's sighs—this sigh part cardamom, that one the essence of clove; a lover requests a banquet as an affirmation of ongoing passion; homage is paid to the most time-honored appetizer: soup."

Cover Art
The House on Boulevard St.: New and Selected Poems - David Kirby
Call Number: PS3561.I66 H69 2007
ISBN: 0807132152
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
From publisher's website: "The poems in The House on Boulevard St. were written within earshot of David Kirby's Old World masters, Shakespeare and Dante. From the former, Kirby takes the compositional method of organizing not only the whole book but also each separate section as a dream; from the latter, a three-part scheme that gives the book rough symmetry. Long-lined and often laugh-aloud funny, Kirby's poems are ample steamer trunks into which the poet seems to be able to put just about anything—the heated restlessness of youth, the mixed blessings of self-imposed exile, the settled pleasures of home. As the poet Philip Levine says, 'the world that Kirby takes into his imagination and the one that arises from it merge to become a creation like no other, something like the world we inhabit but funnier and more full of wonder and terror. He has evolved a poetic vision that seems able to include anything, and when he lets it sweep him across the face of Europe and America, the results are astonishing.'"

Cover Art
Door in the Mountain: New and Collected Poems, 1965-2003 - Jean Valentine
Call Number: PS3572.A39 D66 2004
ISBN: 0819567132
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
From publisher's website: "Since the 1965 publication of her first book, Dream Barker, selected for the Yale Younger Poets Award, Jean Valentine has published eight collections of poetry to critical acclaim. Spare and intensely-felt, Valentine’s poems present experience as only imperfectly graspable. This volume gathers together all of Valentine’s published poems and includes a new collection, 'Door in the Mountain.' Valentine's poetry is as recognizable as the slant truth of a dream. She is a brave, unshirking poet who speaks with fire on the great subjects—love, and death, and the soul. Her images—strange, canny visions of the unknown self—clang with the authenticity of real experience. This is an urgent art that wants to heal what it touches, a poetry that wants to tell, intimately, the whole life."

 

New Location


The Library has Moved!

The Frazar Library has been relocated to the Parra Ballroom in the New Ranch.

The library will be serving students, faculty and staff of McNeese State University in its new location while undergoing at 24-month scheduled renovation.

Find out more at library.mcneese.edu/renovation.

 

75th Anniversary

 

Friends

Support the Friends of the Library

 

Suggestions?

Suggestion box
Drop us a line!

 

Member of

Louis-Louisiana Library Network LogoMember of the Louisiana Library Network

Federal Depository Library Eagle LogoLouisiana State Depository Library Program Logo

 

___

Virtual Wall of Donors


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip