Last Updated: Jul 20, 2017
Can't find a book or article?
Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.
A comprehensive directory and search engine that focuses exclusively on business. Industry experts and library scientists have indexed more than 25,000 categories and chosen more than 400,000 business-oriented web sites as well as company profiles.
The financial network presented by CNN. This site features current stock market news, stock quotes, and worldwide financial news which is constantly updated.
Fortune magazine (and others) online. General business news, investment news, and information regarding the famous "Fortune 500" is at your fingertips.
- Government Information
Provides comprehensive coverage of government resources.
- EDGAR Database--SEC Filings
U.S. Government database of corporate information and reports filed with the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
Free information on programs and finances of over 650,000 U.S. charities, as well as up-to-date news on philanthropy.
- Online Annual Report Service
Current and historical annual reports for over 1800 companies worldwide.
- Preparing for the GMAT
The Test Prep Review Site provides information and free practice tests to help prepare for the GMAT.
- Small Business Administration
Information about starting, financing, and expanding a business.
Yellow Pages for U.S. businesses (over 16 million listings).
A large directory providing links to both large and small companies. Search by any combination of company name, product, service, or browse through listing of business categories.
CorpTech provides free capsules of information on over 47,000 U.S. technology companies.
- Hoover's Online
Hoover's online source for company information. Search by company name, ticker symbol, or keyword(s).
- Thomas Register
Thomas Register on the Internet lists 155,000 U.S. and Canadian companies.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Federal government's principal fact-finding agency in the field of economics and statistics.
Interactive financial charts, quotes, and reports. Data from over 24,000 stocks, mutual funds and market indices.
- Bonds Online
Includes data and links to resources covering Treasury, municipal, and corporate bonds and bond funds.
- MSN Money
MSN site features numerous links for business and investment news as well as up-to-date stock market data.
- Mutual Fund Finder
An opportunity to enter criteria for choosing mutual funds that meet the user's criteria of investment category, size, risk, performance, etc.
- NASDAQ Market Data
Daily market quotes, ticker, and news from Nasdaq, NYSE, and AMEX stock exchanges. Mutual funds also included.
Online service features quick, up-to-date stock quotes and financial data with frequent daily updates.
- Standard & Poors
Lists the Real Time Indices, Global 100 and Europe 350 Index Data. Provides links to various indices.
- Wall Street Journal Online
Online edition of Wall Street Journal, offering headlines and selected articles from the print edition. Must subscribe.
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals: What’s the Difference?
Some assignments require you to use only scholarly journals, not popular magazines. There is no foolproof way to tell the difference. However, there are some features you can look for to help you decide if a periodical is scholarly. (Read more...)