Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017
What is this?
Use the above search form to search the list of subscribed electronic journal titles. The search results link directly to the journal holdings, many of which offer full-text articles accessible from your computer. If you don't find the journal title here, you can still search the library catalog (above) to see if is available in print, or you can request it through interlibrary loan
- American Memory
American Memory of the Library of Congress provides free and open online access to documents, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Many government, political, legal, and historical primary resources are available to view and print/save here. It is a digital record of American history!
- CIA Declassified Documents
Database of declassified documents to view and download online. You can also request to view government records by filing a FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) request.
- FBI Records
Browse FBI documents alphabetically, or by topic such as "famous persons", "historical interest", and "unusual phenomena".
- Homeland Security Digital Library
This database provides access to mostly essays on topics related to crime, gangs, law enforcement, police, terrorism, and more. All documents are available in full-text.
- Internet Archive
You can find historical full-text books on your topic and some historical government documents too. There are two great collections to search for government documents: USA Government Documents collection and the American Libraries collection.
- Library of Congress
A wealth of information, the Library of Congress official website serves as a portal to various online exhibits, digital collections, legislative information, and research guides.
- National Archives
Contains historical documents, online exhibits, research guides, databases, guides to researching and requesting information and records from the National Archives, etc.
- Office of the Historian
The Office of the Historian is responsible for the preparation and publication of the official documentary history of U.S. foreign policy in the Foreign Relations of the United States series. In addition, the Office prepares policy-supportive historical studies.
- SIRIS - Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
Search millions of records with links to over 140,000 images, documents, videos, and sound files from dozens of Smithsonian libraries, archives, and museums.
- The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database thousands of documents such as The Messages and Papers of the Presidents, The Public Papers of the Presidents, The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
These are just a few of the databases and search engines offered by the Frazar Memorial Library. Only student, faculty and staff members are allowed access to these resources while off campus.
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for thousands of scholarly publications, including full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1865.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is developed by the Library of Congress's Research Division. They compose original, thorough, and unbiased analyses on many controversial, economic, environmental, political, and social issues. Although not peer-reviewed, each entry is generally considered to be authoritative as it is developed by the U.S. Government. All materials are available in full-text.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
The Criminal Justice Abstracts database provides comprehensive coverage of criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present, and is updated quarterly. Prepared in co-operation with the Don M. Gottfredson Library of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University Law Library, Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
This database provides articles on topics related to Political Science, Law, Economics, History, and much more. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
- Legal Collection
This database provides articles on topics related to federal law, international law, criminal justice, ethics, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
- LexisNexis Academic
This database provides articles from many legal resources, major newspapers, and magazines. Coverage varies to include business, current events, politics, social issues, and more. Most documents are available in full-text.
- Military and Government Collection
This database provides articles on topics related to Politics, History, Law enforcement, Military Science, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
- Salem History Decades
Salem History Decades series examines the iconic personalities and moments that defined each decade from the 1930s to the 1990s. The database cover events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada. Full text searching is available as well as browsing by category, decade, geographic location, and topic.