Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014
Can't find a book or article?
Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.
This database provides articles on topics related to erosion, geology, volcanoes, wind, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text.
This database provides articles on topics related to global warming, green architecture, recycling, sustainable practices, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
- Academic Search Complete
Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, performing Arts, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
- America's Historical Newspaper--Louisiana State
This database includes a handful of Louisiana newspapers 1850s-1980s. There is a heavy concentration on New Orleans in the Post Civil War Period.
- Bayou State Periodical Index
This database indexes articles related to Louisiana History. It does not provide full-text articles. The database indexes both popular and scholarly periodicals. Users may search by title; but there is not an option to limit searches by peer-review/ scholarly articles.
- Environment Index
This database provides articles on topics related to agriculture, ecology, pollution, renewable energy, waste management, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text articles and articles with references (usually peer-reviewed/ scholarly).
- Military and Government Collection
This database provides articles on topics related to History, Law enforcement, Military Science, Politics, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.