Sociology & Anthropology
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2015
Can't find a book or article?
Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.
- SocINDEX with full text
This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, criminal justice, history, sociology, social studies, and more. Users may limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
This database provides access to articles on topics related to anthropology, behavior, psychology, social relations, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database provides access to articles on topics related to Anthropology, Mental Measurements, Psychology, Relationships, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
- Academic Search Complete
Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is developed by the Library of Congress's Research Division. They compose original, thorough, and unbiased analyses on many controversial, economic, environmental, political, and social issues. Although not peer-reviewed, each entry is generally considered to be authoritative as it is developed by the U.S. Government. All entries are available in full-text.
This database provides articles on topics related to Anthropology, Economics, Folklore, History, performing Arts, Psychology, and Social Sciences in general. Users can limit searches to peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles by selecting "articles" in the advanced search option.
- Project Muse
This database provides access to articles on topics related to art, cultural studies, gender, history, literature and criticism, and more. Most articles are scholarly/ peer-reviewed. Users can limit searches to full-text articles.
- Oxford African American Studies Center
This database provides access to articles, images, and documents on topics related to African-Americans, Africana, Women, Biography, and more. All material is full-text. Users cannot limit search to scholarly/ peer-reviewed articles.
- Pop Culture Universe
This database provides articles on topics related to popular culture in United States History. Browsing is best done by decade and selecting a theme from the menu on the left side of the screen. Topics include, biography, cinema, news, sports, trends, and more. Articles are full-text; but not scholarly/ peer-reviewed.
- Salem History Decades
Salem History Decades series examines the iconic personalities and moments that defined each decade from the 1930s to the 1990s. The database cover events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada. Full text searching is available as well as browsing by category, decade, geographic location, and topic.
- WorldCat First Search
This database provides access to bibliographic information on books available in libraries around the world. It is especially useful when seeking to order copies of materials through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessible through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.