This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Nutrition and Food Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Nutrition and Food Science  

Nutrition and Food Science Programs in the Harold and Pearl Dripps Department of Agricultural Sciences
Last Updated: Sep 1, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/guide_nfs Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Request a Book

Can't find a book or article?

Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.

 

Authoritative Journals

Some of your teachers have suggested the following journals as being among the most authoritative in the field.

  • Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - Search Online Here (1995-2003, 2012-present)
  • American Journal of Preventative Medicine
  • Journal of the American College of Nutrition
  • Nutrition Review
  • Biomedical Central Public Health
  • Health Education Behavior
  • Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) - Search Online Here (1998-present) in print 1945-present at Library
  • Topics of Clinical Nutrition - available in print at McNeese Library (1992-present)
  • Clinical Nutrition
  • American Journal of Health Promotion
 

Search For eJournal Titles

 

Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  Rating
    Includes articles covering most subjects. You can limit searches by peer-review/scholarly and full-text.
  • Agricola  Rating
    This agriculture/ animal science database contains peer-review/scholarly and "other" articles and documents. You can only limit searches to full-text.
  • Alt HealthWatch  Rating
    This database provides articles for topics in Health care and wellness, including contemporary and alternative approaches. Searches can be limited to peer-review/ scholarly articles and full-text.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  Rating
    This is one of the leading databases for information on topics in Nursing and Health-related fields. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-review/ scholarly articles.
  • Cochrane Reviews    Rating
    This database focuses on human-based research into health care and health policy. This database reviews clinical trial studies and then summarizes the results. They do not provide citations to the peer-reviewed studies. all entries are available in full-text.
  • Environment Index  Rating
    This database provides articles on topics related to agriculture, ecology, pollution, renewable energy, waste management, and more. Users can limit searches by full-text articles and articles with references (usually peer-reviewed/ scholarly).
  • Health Source: Nursing/ Academic Edition  Rating
    This database provides articles on topics related to medicine, nursing, nursing ethics, pediatrics, research, and more. Users can limit searches to full-text and peer-reviewed/ scholarly articles.
  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source  Rating
    Search full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.

Search for articles with Google Scholar



 

Nutrition Students!

Students who are members of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics ($50 US annual fee) have access to the Evidence Analysis Library (EAL) of the Academy.

 

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a specialized search engine for finding academic materials such as peer-reviewed journal articles, books, theses, abstracts, proceedings, and technical reports from various academic disciplines. Search results link to a variety of sources which frequently contain full-text materials. Some of the search results you might find in Google Scholar are accessable through the library's subscription databases. If you are searching from campus, you will see a find@mcneese link which will check if that particular item is available through the library.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip