This is the "Internet Resources" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Chemistry   Tags: chemistry  

Last Updated: May 2, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/guide_chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Internet Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask Us

 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian (Click here to chat)

Or

email reference@mcneese.edu

Phone: 337-475-5725

 

Request a Book

Can't find a book or article?

Request it through the library's interlibrary loan department. All books requested will be delivered from another lending library free of charge.

Internet Resources

  • Commom Chemistry
    Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) is a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information. The CAS Registry Number is the universally recognized unique identifier of chemical substances and is often found on packaging and on articles of commerce.
  • PubChem
    PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.
  • Yahoo! Directory of Chemistry Websites
    An online guide to the World Wide Web, Yahoo! Directory is a catalog of sites created by Yahoo! editors who visit and evaluate websites and then organize them into subject-based categories and subcategories. When categorizing websites, editors consider a number of factors, such as commercial versus noncommercial and regional versus global. All listings are organized within the categories displayed on the Directory’s front page.

Evaluating Web Sites

Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals: What’s the Difference?

Some assignments require you to use only scholarly journals, not popular magazines. There is no foolproof way to tell the difference. However, there are some features you can look for to help you decide if a periodical is scholarly. (Read more...)


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip