Skip to main content

Library Info

Catalog Locations

Materials in the library catalog are housed in several locations. The following is a guide to library locations listed in the catalog.

Curriculum Materials Collection

Items in the Curriculum Materials Center are located on the second floor near the elevators.  This collection of books for children and teens supports programs in education and library science. Books in the Curriculum Materials Collection may be checked out.

EBSCO eBook

eBooks can be viewed online, on your computer and in many cases downloaded to computers or mobile devices. Web access is required.

General Collection

Books in the General Collection are housed in public areas on the first, second, and third floors. Books in the general collection may be checked out.

Government Information

Government information is located on the fourth floor. These materials do not circulate. A high-quality scanner is available to use.

Media Collection

DVDs in the Media Collection are located on the first floor in the main reading area. DVDs may be checked out by bringing the empty case to the first floor Public Services Desk.

New Books Shelf

New books are located on the first floor behind the Public Services Desk. New books may be checked out.

Oversize

Items in Oversize are located on the second floor near the elevators across from the Curriculum Materials Collection These books are too large for the shelves in the General Collection. Oversize materials may be checked out.

Ready Reference Collection

Ready reference is located on the first floor next to the Public Services desk. These materials may not be checked out.

Reserve Desk

Reserve materials are located behind the circulation desk, They are available to use in the library for a limited time period.

Archives

The Archives Department collects resources about McNeese and Southwest Louisiana, as well as rare books, photographs, audiovisual materials, and much more. To use materials from this area, please call or email at least 24 hours in advance: The phone number is (337) 475-5731 and the email is archivesdept@mcneese.edu 

In the Library catalog, you will see the following locations listed for Archives materials:

  • Archives
  • McNeese Archives
  • Special Collections
  • Friends Collection
  • Holcombe Collection
  • Krause Collection
  • Marino Collection
  • Rare Books Collection
  • UDC Collection
  • *Historic Photos of SWLA -- Internet Access Required" 

 

 


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 |

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St., Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 800-622-3352
EOE/AA/ADA | A member of the University of Louisiana System | Web Disclaimer | Policy Statements | University Status & Emergency Preparedness