Skip to main content
Suggested Internet Resources
Social Science Research Network
Contains an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 250,000 downloadable full text documents in pdf format, and an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 300,000 scholarly papers.
Social Research Methods
Resources and links to sources on applied social research methods, as well as a guide to selecting statistical methods, and online textbooks.
Huge, searchable collection of web sites organized into over 150 subject areas; also includes links to journals, data archives, publishers, and more. There is a detailed section on famous sociologists which links to full-text writings by key figures in the discipline.
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Guide
LSU Library's resource guide with links to organizations, associations, educational resources, historical digital archives, and other recommended websites.
Provides "issue guides" & "research studies" on many contemporary issues including crime, family, gambling, race, and welfare, etc.
Authoritative and comprehensive statistics on all kinds of topics.
Professional Associations & Career Info
American Sociological Association
Provides information about and links to ASA meetings, employment, publicly available data, guides, and funding and research opportunities.
American Anthropological Association
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology. Provides info on professional development, resources, issues, and news.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Information includes job descriptions, training, salaries, and employment outlook---from the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor.