This is the "Home" page of the "Acquisitions News at Frazar Memorial Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Donate to the Frazar Memorial Library McNeese State University Home My McNeese Portal Moodle Library Home Banner Self-Service

Acquisitions News at Frazar Memorial Library  

Wondering what books and other materials are new at Frazar Memorial Library? This is the place to find out.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mcneese.edu/acquisitions Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Select Leisure Reading Books

The following is a sample of the leisure reading books currently available.  They are located on the New Releases shelves near the Circulation Desk.

Cover Art
The Geography of Genius : A Search for the World's Most Creative Places from Ancient Athens to Silicon Valley - Eric Weiner
Call Number: BF412 .W395 2016
ISBN: 9781451691658
Publication Date: 2016-01-05

Cover Art
How to Be a Tudor : A Dawn-to-Dusk Guide to Tudor Life - Ruth Goodman
Call Number: DA315 .G66 2016
ISBN: 9781631491399
Publication Date: 2016-02-15

Cover Art
Gangster Warlords : Drug Dollars, Killing Fields, and the New Politics of Latin America - Ioan Grillo
Call Number: HV6491.L38 G75 2016
ISBN: 9781620403792
Publication Date: 2016-01-19

Cover Art
A Mother's Reckoning : Living in the Aftermath of Tragedy - Sue Klebold
Call Number: LB3013.33.C6 K55 2016
ISBN: 9781101902752
Publication Date: 2016-02-15

Cover Art
The Art of X-Ray Reading : How the Secrets of 25 Great Works of Literature Will Improve Your Writing - Roy Peter Clark
Call Number: PE1408 .C5215 2016
ISBN: 9780316282178
Publication Date: 2016-01-26

Cover Art
The Case of the Fickle Mermaid : A Brothers Grimm Mystery - P. J. Brackston
Call Number: PR6102.R325 C37 2016
ISBN: 9781605989464
Publication Date: 2016-01-25

 

Database Trial: Statista

Statista is a portal for researching and accessing quantitative data, statistics, and related information.  Access is available to over one million statistics and facts in 18,000 sources covering 80,000 topics.  Data may be exported as PNG graphics, Excel spreadsheets, PowerPoint files, and PDF documents.  Trial extends through December 19, 2016.  Your experience will help us better allocate resources, so please take the user survey here.

 

Spotlight on Free Resources: Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of approximately 280 free online college textbooks on a wide range of academic subjects.  The textbooks have been written and reviewed for accuracy by faculty at various colleges and universities and are freely available to anyone to read and print.  Subjects include accounting and finance; business, management, and marketing; computer science and information systems; economics; engineering; foreign languages; general education; humanities and language; law; mathematics and statistics; natural and physical sciences; and social sciences.  Titles may be accessed by following the link above and through the library's catalog.  The Open Textbook Library is a project of the Open Textbook Network, with technical support statewide from LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network.  No special login is required from off campus.

 

Spotlight on New Books

Dead presidents are fodder for the highest forms of art—like Daniel Chester French's stirring statue at the Lincoln Memorial, or Horace Greenough's slightly less stirring statue of George Washington in a toga, hidden away in the Smithsonian after public outcry—and the lowest forms of commerce, such as the Brooklyn company that sold James A. Garfield medicinal powders ("Headaches with Garfield, Relieved Instantly") and a presidential-themed laxative drink, with the catchy slogan "Flush the bowels with Garfield Tea."

Visiting presidential graves may sound morbid or even a little weird, but once you start looking for the stories behind the stones, it's hard to stop.  The first stop on my honeymoon was a return trip to Springfield to see Lincoln, and later in the week we bypassed Graceland in Memphis so we could see James K. Polk in Nashville.  My son, by age two, had spent a fair amount of time in cemeteries and started running up to tombstones and shouting, "Dead!"  Most presidential history buffs prefer learning about the lives these memorials are intended to honor, lives that have steered and shaped our nation.  But the memorials themselves are worthy of attention as well, not only for what they tell us about the presidents but because they leave a record of what we value and believe as a country.  In a country founded on the principle that we're all created equal, we've built Mount Rushmore, where we've carved only four of our equals' heads at twelve times normal size—because the president, the one person whom we can all elect, represents and exemplifies all of us.  So fairly or unfairly, we make the presidents bigger than the rest of us.  And smaller, too: just as we exalt them with statues and sculptures and iconic paintings, we also cut them down to size through kitsch—wax dummies, cartoons, Halloween costumes, and bobblehead dolls.  In death, Americans transform their presidents into mythic figures, pillars of virtue who serve as lead characters in the national narrative ... and then put their faces on action figures and hot sauce bottles.

Cover Art
Dead Presidents : An American Adventure into the Strange Deaths and Surprising Afterlives of Our Nation's Leaders - Brady Carlson
Call Number: E176.1 .C23 2016
ISBN: 9780393243932
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
Excerpt copyright © 2016 by Brady Carlson

 

Leisure Reading Books Are Here!

Frazar Memorial Library now has a leisure reading collection.  Through a subscription to Baker & Taylor's book leasing program, the library now regularly offers current popular fiction and nonfiction titles, including The New York Times bestsellers.  Although the collection is currently small, new books will be added every month.  We may choose to keep the most popular titles, or we may return them for new ones as their popularity wanes.  Under the plan, our collection will eventually reach 300 titles per year.

Leisure books are searchable in the library's catalog and are shelved in the library lobby near the Circulation Desk.  They circulate for the same length of time as other books.  Leisure books are easily identifiable by their clear mylar covers.

The leisure reading collection is in keeping with Frazar Memorial Library's mission of providing user-centered collections and services.  It allows us to maintain a dynamic collection that is relevant to our users while making optimal use of limited space and resources.

Stop by and see what we have to offer.  Comments or questions about the service and suggestions for possible future titles are welcome and may be forwarded to Lonnie Beene, Acquisitions Librarian, at lbeene@mcneese.edu or (337) 475-5724.

 

EBSCO Ebooks

Frazar Memorial Library makes electronic books (ebooks) available through its subscription to EBSCO's eBook Collection.  In addition to being accessible through the EBSCOhost website, our ebooks have records in the online catalog that direct you to ebook titles in EBSCOhost.  This is advantageous in that it shows both the print and electronic books we have on a given subject.

Ebooks are identifiable by "[electronic resource]" in the title, a material designator of "Electronic Book," and a Location of "EBSCO eBook--Web Access Required."  Since it is not always easy to distinguish print and ebook records from one another at a glance (especially if you're pressed for time), the easiest way to access the library's ebooks is to go directly to the EBSCOhost eBook Collection website and search by keyword or title.

EBSCO ebooks may be downloaded for reading offline for a limited amount of time.  Downloading to a Windows or Mac computer requires the use of Adobe Digital Editions software, which is available here as a free download.  (Do not download to library computers; they already have it).

For instructions on downloading EBSCO ebooks to a tablet, e-reader, or smartphone, click the "Transfer EBSCO eBooks to a Mobile Device" tab on the library's EBSCO eBooks page.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lonnie Beene
Contact Info
(337) 475-5724
(337) 475-5719 (fax)
Send Email
 

Google Books Search

For those times when the library doesn't have what you need, perhaps a search of Google Books will help.  Please note, however, that Google Books does not make the complete text available for all books.  If you need assistance, contact the Reference Desk at (337) 475-5725.



 

Have a Purchase Suggestion?

If you know of a book or other resource (video, journal, database) that you think the library should purchase, click here to complete a purchase suggestion form.  While we can't guarantee that we'll purchase everything, we do add items based on user suggestions, subject to available funds and appropriateness to the collection.  Thank you for your interest in improving Frazar Memorial Library.

 

Acquisitions Policies

Below is a link to view the Acquisitions Department's policies (requires Adobe Reader).

Last update: Sept. 4, 2013.

 

Library Liaison Assignments

Below is a link to view the library liaison assignments (requires Adobe Reader).  Liaisons are those librarians responsible for working with departments to maintain the quality of the library collection in various disciplines.

Last update: June 3, 2016.


McNeese State University Frazar Memorial Library | Box 91445 | Lake Charles, LA 70609 | 337-475-5725 | library.mcneese.edu

McNeese State University | 4205 Ryan St. | Lake Charles LA 70609 | 800-622-3352 | www.mcneese.edu


McNeese Web Page Disclaimer | McNeese Policy Statements
Copyright © McNeese State University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip